menu
back

Newsletters

Listed companies facing coronavirus

Frank Martin Laprade , Cyril Deniaud , Benjamin Cohu , Claire Coquard

Although the coronavirus is an extraordinary situation making financial communication both necessary and particularly sensitive, there is no indication at this stage that listed companies will benefit from any exemptions regarding compliance with their legal obligations or from any forbearance from the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (“AMF”). Therefore, in this difficult context, issuers have to find pragmatic solutions by themselves to comply with applicable laws and regulations, as well as to implement their development strategy (by way of fundraising on the market, as the case may be).

Spoiler title

  • Ordinary general meetings of shareholders

Annual ordinary shareholders’ meetings have to be held within six months from the end of any financial year in order to approve the corporate and/or consolidated financial statements of the last financial year (article L. 225-100 of the French Commercial Code). In most cases, French listed companies close their financial year on December 31 each year, which implies that their ordinary general meeting have to be held by June 30 the following year.

Employers’ associations have recently submitted various recommendations to the French Minister of the Economy about difficulties for listed companies to hold annual ordinary general meetings. The idea of a bill allowing those general meetings to be held behind closed doors (i.e. with no physical attendance of shareholders) in the event of a health crisis has been evoked, and as far as we know, a decree allowing general meetings to be held behind closed doors is expected to be published imminently.

Notwithstanding the current health situation linked to the coronavirus spread and to the prohibition of events involving a high number of people until further notice, neither the AMF nor French lawmakers plan to allow annual ordinary shareholders’ meetings to be held beyond June 30, 2020.

Such a postponement would not necessarily be welcomed by shareholders as it would postpone the approval of resolutions relating to the allocation of financial results, and thus any decision relating to any dividend distribution.

In addition, postponing annual ordinary shareholders’ meetings would involve significant costs for issuers, which mostly are already affected by coronavirus’ impacts on their activity.

Above all, postponing annual ordinary shareholders’ meetings to be held by June 30, 2020 seems particularly unnecessary as shareholders have the opportunity to participate in those shareholders’ meeting without being physically present. As the AMF pointed out in a press release dated 6 March 2020, shareholders of listed companies may also participate in general meetings of shareholders by using postal voting forms or proxy forms provided by issuers, or by voting online on an Internet secured platform (for issuers allowing this method of voting).

However, issuers should remind their shareholders with applicable deadlines for the receipt of such votes by the issuers in order to avoid any quorum issues which would imply convening a second shareholders’ meeting, or even the judiciary appointment of an “ad hoc” proxy (who would be in charge of representing non-voting shareholders in order to reach the required quorum and thus enable the general meeting to be held) in the event that the approval of major resolutions for issuers (e.g. the approval of a merger, the approval of a reserved share capital increase to a new investor, etc.) would be placed on the agenda.

In addition, in its press release dated March 6, 2020, the AMF reminded that all shareholders have the right to ask written questions on matters relating to the general meeting of shareholders (article L. 225-108 of the French Commercial Code) up to the fourth business day prior to the general meeting of shareholders (article R. 225-84 of the French Commercial Code).

Finally, in this press release, the AMF recommended the issuers to plan to broadcast their annual general meetings on their website and to broadly communicate on this matter.

One of the indirect consequences of the massive use of postal voting or proxy forms or the convening of general meetings to be held behind closed doors (subject to the publication of the decree related to such exceptional procedure) is the decrease of the risk for issuers of being exposed to incidents or to the submission of additional resolutions “live” during general meetings.

 

  • Board of directors’ and supervisory boards’ meetings

It is reminded that members of the board of directors or supervisory boards, including their chairman, do not necessarily need to physically attend meetings of these boards. Indeed, within the limits of the by-laws of an issuer, internal rules of a board of directors or supervisory board may provide that the members of such board of directors or supervisory board may attend the meetings using “videoconferencing or telecommunications means enabling their identification and guaranteeing their actual participation” (article L. 225-37 of the French Commercial Code).

Members of the board of directors or the supervisory board participating remotely to board meetings will be counted in the quorum of such meetings, except for meetings relating to the closing of corporate and consolidated financial statements (i.e. those board meetings which are currently being held in most issuers) for which a member participating remotely will be considered as absent, which would be likely to raise difficulties in terms of achieving the required quorum.

However, as far as we know, a decree is expected to be published imminently in order to allow members of the board of directors or the supervisory board who participate remotely in board meetings relating to the closing of the corporate and consolidated financial statements to be considered as present. This decree would even have retroactive effect.

II.ISSUES REGARDING MARKET DISCLOSURES

  • Impact of the coronavirus on users’ disclosures

–  Regarding ongoing information

In a press release published on February 28, 2020, the AMF pointed out that the Market Abuse Regulation EU 596/2014 of 16 April 2014 (MAR Regulation) requires issuers to make a public announcement, as part of their ongoing information, of any inside information, i.e. any information of a precise nature, which has not been made public, relating, directly or indirectly, to an issuer and which would be likely to have a significant effect on the prices of financial instruments.

The AMF mentioned that any knowledge of a significant impact of the epidemic on the activity, the performance or the outlook (or instance) of an issuer, as soon as this information constitutes inside information, must therefore be disclosed to the market without delay.

As a reminder, in accordance with applicable regulations, issuers may always defer the publication of such inside information under their responsibility provided that:

  • the immediate disclosure may jeopardize the legitimate interest of such issuer;
  • a delayed disclosure would not be likely to mislead the public;
  • the issuer is able to ensure confidentiality of the information until its disclosure.

Consequently, everything will depend on the potential discrepancy that may be observed between, on the one hand, the precise information available to the issuer internally and, on the other hand, the market’s expectations as reflected in particular in the share price: allowing excessively alarmist rumours to spread, whereas internal information is more reassuring, could in fact be considered as a deception of the market.

More generally, the AMF recommended to the issuers (i) to periodically reassess the known and anticipated impact of the epidemic on their activity or their outlook as to its materiality and/or amount, (ii) to disclose the epidemic’s impact on their activity, their performance or their outlook when presenting their annual results, and (iii) for issuers that will communicate outlooks to the market for 2020 when publishing their results, to present the assumptions made with regard to the epidemic’s potential impact, even in the absence of more precise information (definitive and quantified).-  S’agissant de l’information périodique

–  Regarding the periodic information

Listed companies are required to publish their annual financial report within four months following the end of the previous financial year (article L. 451-1-2 of the French Monetary and Financial Code).

So far (but that can change very quickly), there is no evidence that the coronavirus health crisis would constitute a case of force majeure allowing an issuer not to comply with this legal deadline, even if such issuer could justify a delay in the drafting of its annual financial report caused by continuous or repeated absence of their employees (due to a containment measure or contamination for instance).

The AMF recommended that issuers mention in their annual financial report including their management report, a description of the main risks and uncertainties faced by the issuer in the relevant section in light of the coronavirus.

The AMF also recommended the “risk factors” section of the universal registration document to deal with the impact of the epidemic on economic exposure of the issuer as well as any measures that may have been taken by it.

In addition, in the “health and safety at work” section of the non-financial statement (déclaration de performance extra-financière) (provided that such issuer has to disclose such statement in accordance with legal thresholds), the measures taken by the issuer to ensure health and safety of its employees in relation to the epidemic should be presented.

Finally, the AMF specified that epidemic’s impacts should also be considered, if necessary in financial statements of December 31, 2019, as a post-closing event requiring information.

However, no adjustment of the financial statements as at December 31, 2019 is necessary as only an event related to facts that existed at the reporting date can be accounted for as an adjusting event.

Yet, on December 31, 2019 a limited number of cases of an unknown virus had been reported to the World Health Organization and there was no explicit evidence of human-to-human transmission at that date.

Spoiler title

  • The impact of the coronavirus on the share price

The health crisis caused by the coronavirus spread has an important impact on financial markets, and the share price of some issuers may fall below the nominal value of the share.

However, French law prohibits any issue of shares at a lower price than the nominal value (Article L. 225-128 of the French Commercial Code), which would in theory prevent any issue of new shares by an issuer for which this situation would persist.

In such a case, issuers always have different ways to achieve fund raisings.

The most intuitive way is the reduction of the share capital by reducing the nominal value of the share, which however implies that (i) a resolution of the general meeting of shareholders of the issuer deciding on, or authorising, such a capital reduction has been approved, and (ii) the issuer has sufficient losses available in the event of a share capital reduction justified by losses.

Issuers may also increase their share capital by using a “mixed” pay-up mechanism (this mechanism being authorized by Article L. 228-7 of the French Commercial Code), i.e. a payment of the new shares (i) partially in cash (up to the subscription price, i.e. the share price with a discount) and (ii) partially by capitalisation of reserves, profits or share premiums (up to the difference between the subscription price and the nominal value of the share), so that the issuance price of the new shares issued is actually equal to the nominal value of the new shares issued.

This unknown mechanism is a real alternative to a share capital reduction which is not always possible. Consequently, it is recommended that issuers submit to the vote of the next general meeting of shareholders resolutions entitling the board of directors or the management board to increase the share capital allowing such a “mixed” paying-up of shares (if such a delegation has not already been granted in an applicable resolution).

For more information about this mechanism: http://www.jeantet.fr/la-liberation-mixte-des-actions-une-technique-meconnue-permettant-a-une-societe-cotee-de-lever-des-fonds-quand-son-cours-de-bourse-est-inferieur-au-nominal/

menu
retour

Newsletters

Les sociétés cotées face au coronavirus

Frank Martin Laprade , Cyril Deniaud , Benjamin Cohu , Claire Coquard

Bien que le coronavirus relève d’une situation exceptionnelle, rendant à la fois nécessaire et particulièrement délicate la communication financière, rien n’indique à ce stade que les sociétés cotées bénéficieront de dérogations quant au respect de leurs obligations légales ou d’une indulgence quelconque de la part de l’Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF). Les émetteurs doivent donc trouver eux-mêmes des solutions pratiques pour parvenir à respecter les dispositions légales et réglementaires qui leur sont applicables, ainsi que pour mettre en œuvre leurs stratégies de développement (par appel au marché, le cas échéant), dans ce contexte difficile.

I.PROBLÉMATIQUES LIÉES AU SECRÉTARIAT JURIDIQUE DES ÉMETTEURS

  • Tenue des assemblées générales ordinaires annuelles des actionnaires

Les assemblées générales ordinaires annuelles des actionnaires doivent être réunies dans les six mois suivant la clôture de tout exercice social afin de permettre l’approbation des comptes annuels sociaux et/ou consolidés du dernier exercice clos (article L. 225-100 du Code de commerce). Dans la très grande majorité des cas, les sociétés françaises cotées clôturent leur exercice social au 31 décembre chaque année, ce qui implique que l’assemblée générale ordinaire se soit réunie avant le 30 juin de l’année suivante pour approuver les comptes de l’exercice antérieur.

Sur ce sujet, les organisations patronales ont récemment fait part au Ministre de l’Economie de différentes propositions concernant les problématiques liées à la tenue des assemblées générales ordinaires annuelles au sein des sociétés cotées et l’idée d’un projet de loi permettant de tenir les assemblées générales à huis clos (c’est-à-dire sans la présence physique des actionnaires), en cas de crise sanitaire, aurait été évoquée, et, selon nos informations, la publication d’une ordonnance autorisant la tenue de telles assemblées générales à huis clos serait imminente.

En dépit de la situation sanitaire actuelle liée à la propagation du coronavirus et à l’interdiction des rassemblements impliquant de nombreuses personnes jusqu’à nouvel ordre, ni l’AMF ni le législateur n’envisagent de permettre le report des assemblées générales ordinaires annuelles d’actionnaires au-delà du 30 juin 2020.

Un tel report ne serait pas nécessairement bien accueilli par les actionnaires, dans la mesure où cela repousserait d’autant l’approbation des résolutions relatives à l’affectation du résultat des émetteurs, et ainsi toute décision relative à la mise en paiement d’éventuels dividendes.

En outre, le report des assemblées générales ordinaires engendrerait des coûts substantiels pour les émetteurs qui, dans leur immense majorité, sont déjà fortement impactés par les répercussions du coronavirus sur leur activité.

Surtout, le report des assemblées générales ordinaires annuelles appelées à se tenir d’ici au 30 juin 2020 apparait d’autant moins nécessaire que les actionnaires disposent de moyens alternatifs à une présence physique pour s’exprimer en assemblée générale.

Comme l’a rappelé l’AMF dans un communiqué de presse en date du 6 mars 2020, les actionnaires de sociétés cotées ont la faculté de participer aux assemblées générales sans y être physiquement présents, que ce soit en utilisant les formulaires de vote par correspondance ou les formulaires de procuration mis à leur disposition par les émetteurs, ou bien en votant directement sur Internet via une plateforme de vote sécurisée (pour les émetteurs qui permettent cette modalité de vote).

Il conviendra toutefois pour les émetteurs de rappeler aux actionnaires les délais applicables s’agissant de la réception des votes à distance, afin d’éviter tout problème de quorum qui impliquerait la convocation d’une deuxième assemblée générale, voire la désignation en justice à la demande de l’émetteur d’un mandataire « ad hoc » (lequel serait chargé de représenter les actionnaires défaillants afin d’atteindre le quorum et ainsi de permettre à l’assemblée de se tenir), dans l’hypothèse où l’approbation de résolutions structurantes pour les émetteurs (par exemple : approbation d’une fusion, approbation d’une augmentation de capital réservée à un nouvel investisseur, etc.) serait à l’ordre du jour.

Par ailleurs, l’AMF rappelle dans son communiqué du 6 mars 2020 que tout actionnaire a la faculté de poser des questions écrites sur les sujets relevant de l’assemblée générale (article L. 225-108 du Code de commerce) jusqu’au quatrième jour ouvré précédant l’assemblée générale (article R. 225-84 du Code de commerce).

Enfin, dans ce communiqué, l’AMF encourage les émetteurs à prévoir la retransmission en direct de leurs assemblées générales annuelles sur leur site Internet et de communiquer largement à ce sujet.

Une des conséquences incidentes du recours massif au vote à distance ou d’une éventuelle tenue des assemblées générales à huis clos (sous réserve d’adoption de l’ordonnance relative à cette faculté exceptionnelle) est la réduction du risque pour les émetteurs d’être confrontés à des incidents de séance ou au dépôt de résolutions nouvelles en cours d’assemblée générale.

  • Réunions des conseils d’administration / de surveillance

Il est rappelé que les membres du conseil d’administration ou du conseil de surveillance, en ce compris leur président, n’ont pas nécessairement besoin d’être présents physiquement aux réunions de ces conseils.

En effet, sauf disposition contraire des statuts, le règlement intérieur du conseil d’administration ou de surveillance d’un émetteur peut prévoir la faculté pour les membres du conseil d’administration ou de surveillance de prendre part à ses réunions à l’aide de « moyens de visioconférence ou de télécommunication permettant leur identification et garantissant leur participation effective » (article L. 225-37 du Code de commerce).

Les membres du conseil d’administration ou de surveillance participant à distance aux réunions du conseil seront comptabilisés dans le quorum des réunions concernées, à l’exception toutefois des réunions relatives à l’arrêté des comptes sociaux et consolidés (lesquelles se tiennent, pour la plupart des émetteurs, en ce moment même) pour lesquelles un membre qui participerait à la réunion à distance serait considéré comme absent, ce qui serait susceptible de soulever des difficultés en termes d’atteinte du quorum.

Toutefois, selon nos informations, une ordonnance devrait être publiée de façon imminente afin de permettre de considérer comme présents les membres du conseil d’administration ou de surveillance qui participerait à distance aux réunions relatives à l’arrêté des comptes sociaux et consolidés. Cette ordonnance aurait même un effet rétroactif.

II.PROBLÉMATIQUES LIÉES A LA COMMUNICATION AU MARCHÉ

  • Impact du coronavirus sur la communication des émetteurs

–  S’agissant de l’information permanente

L’AMF a publié un communiqué de presse le 28 février 2020 dans lequel elle rappelle que le règlement Abus de Marché EU 596/2014 du 16 avril 2014 (règlement MAR) impose aux émetteurs de rendre publique, au titre de l’information permanente, toute information privilégiée, c’est-à-dire toute information non publique, intéressant directement ou indirectement un émetteur, à caractère précis et susceptible d’influencer de façon sensible le cours des instruments financiers concernés.

L’AMF indique que toute connaissance d’un impact important de l’épidémie sur l’activité, la performance ou les perspectives (par exemple), doit en principe, dès lors que cette information constitue une information privilégiée, être communiquée sans délai au marché.

Pour rappel, conformément à la réglementation applicable, les émetteurs peuvent toutefois prendre la responsabilité de différer la publication de cette information privilégiée, à condition que :

–  la publication immédiate comporte le risque de porter atteinte à leurs intérêts légitimes ;

–  le report n’engendre aucun risque d’induire le public en erreur ;

–  l’émetteur concerné soit capable de préserver la confidentialité de l’information jusqu’à sa publication.

Dès lors, tout dépendra du décalage potentiel qui pourra être observé entre d’une part les données précises dont dispose l’émetteur en interne et d’autres part les attentes du marché, telles qu’elles se traduisent notamment sur le cours de bourse : laisser se propager des rumeurs excessivement alarmistes, alors que les informations privilégiées sont plus rassurantes, pourrait en effet être considéré comme une tromperie du marché.

De manière plus générale, l’AMF recommande aux émetteurs (i) de réévaluer périodiquement l’impact connu et anticipé de l’épidémie sur l’activité et les perspectives quant à son caractère significatif et/ou son montant, (ii) de communiquer sur l’impact de l’épidémie sur leur activité, leur performance ou leurs perspectives lors de la présentation de leurs résultats annuels, et (iii) pour les émetteurs qui communiqueront des perspectives au marché pour 2020 lors de la publication de leurs résultats, d’indiquer les hypothèses retenues eu égard aux impacts potentiels de l’épidémie, même en l’absence d’information plus précise (définitive et chiffrée).

–  S’agissant de l’information périodique

Les sociétés cotées ont l’obligation de publier leur rapport financier annuel dans un délai de quatre mois suivant la clôture de leur exercice social (article L. 451-1-2 du Code monétaire et financier).

A ce jour (mais cela peut changer très vite), rien n’indique que la crise sanitaire du coronavirus constituerait un cas de force majeure permettant à un émetteur de ne pas respecter ce délai légal, et ce même si l’émetteur justifiait d’un retard dans la rédaction de son rapport financier annuel dû à des absences continues ou répétées de son personnel (en raison d’une mesure de confinement ou d’une contamination par exemple).

L’AMF invite les émetteurs à insérer dans leur rapport financier annuel comprenant leur rapport de gestion, dans la section relative à la description des principaux risques et incertitudes auxquels l’émetteur est confronté, une description de ces risques et incertitudes au vu de l’épidémie.

Il est également préconisé par l’AMF d’insérer dans la section relative aux facteurs de risques, contenue dans le document d’enregistrement universel, l’impact de cette épidémie sur l’exposition économique de l’émetteur ainsi que les éventuelles mesures prises par celui-ci.

Par ailleurs, il conviendra d’évoquer, dans la section « santé et sécurité au travail » de la déclaration de performance extra-financière (sous réserve que l’émetteur soit concerné par l’obligation de publier cette déclaration en vertu des seuils légaux), les mesures prises par l’émetteur pour garantir la santé et la sécurité de ses salariés vis-à-vis de l’épidémie.

Enfin, l’AMF indique que l’épidémie doit être considérée, si nécessaire dans les états financiers au 31 décembre 2019, comme un événement post-clôture nécessitant des informations.

Toutefois, aucun ajustement des états financiers au 31 décembre 2019 n’est nécessaire, dans la mesure où seul un évènement lié à des conditions existant à la date de clôture peut entrainer un ajustement des comptes.

Or, au 31 décembre 2019, la possibilité de transmission interhumaine du coronavirus n’était pas établie et l’OMS ne signalait qu’un nombre limité de personnes atteintes d’un virus inconnu.

III. PROBLÉMATIQUES LIÉES A L'ÉVOLUTION DU COURS DE BOURSE

  • Impact du coronavirus sur le cours de bourse

Les marchés financiers sont actuellement très impactés par la crise sanitaire provoquée par le coronavirus et il arrive que le cours de l’action de certains émetteurs baisse jusqu’à atteindre une valeur inférieure à la valeur nominale de l’action.

Or, le droit français interdit toute émission d’actions à un prix inférieur à leur valeur nominale (article L. 225-128 du Code de commerce), ce qui pourrait en théorie paralyser toute émission d’actions nouvelles par un émetteur pour lequel cette situation perdurerait.

Dans un tel cas de figure, les émetteurs disposent toujours de divers dispositifs pour procéder à des levées de fonds.

La manière la plus intuitive est de procéder au préalable à une réduction du capital par réduction de la valeur nominale de l’action, ce qui implique cependant que l’émetteur dispose (i) d’une résolution de l’assemblée générale des actionnaires décidant, ou autorisant, une telle réduction de capital, et (ii) de pertes suffisantes en cas de réduction de capital par apurement des pertes.

Les émetteurs peuvent également procéder à une augmentation de capital par un mécanisme de libération « mixte » (ce mécanisme étant autorisé par l’article L. 228-7 du Code de commerce), à savoir une libération des nouvelles actions (i) pour partie en espèces (à hauteur du prix de souscription, soit le cours de bourse auquel est appliquée une décote) et (ii) pour partie par voie d’incorporation de réserves, bénéfices ou primes d’émission (à hauteur de la différence entre le prix de souscription et la valeur nominale de l’action), de manière à ce que le prix d’émission des actions nouvelles émises soit bien égal à la valeur nominale des actions nouvelles ainsi émises.

Ce dispositif méconnu constitue une véritable alternative à une réduction de capital dont la mise en œuvre n’est pas toujours possible. Par conséquent, il est recommandé aux émetteurs de soumettre au vote de la prochaine assemblée générale des actionnaires, des résolutions donnant tous pouvoirs au conseil d’administration ou au directoire pour réaliser des augmentations de capital permettant une telle libération « mixte » des actions (si une telle délégation n’a pas déjà été accordée dans une résolution en vigueur).

Pour plus d’informations concernant ce mécanisme : http://www.jeantet.fr/la-liberation-mixte-des-actions-une-technique-meconnue-permettant-a-une-societe-cotee-de-lever-des-fonds-quand-son-cours-de-bourse-est-inferieur-au-nominal/