menu
back

Paris, 5 December 2019 – Jeantet advised CSPM Europe, the French subsidiary of the publisher CSPM (Chinese Science Publishing and Media) in connection with the acquisition of EDP Sciences’ shares. EDP Sciences is a company specialised in the publication of scientific journals in English and in the production and distribution of scientific journals in French, on behalf of academic publishing societies.

This operation aims to consolidate EDP Sciences (Edition Diffusion Presse Sciences) future and its development potential on an international scale, as well as to enable CSPM to establish a European scientific fund for high value-added content on scientific subjects. It marks the total exit of the associations SFP (Société Française de Physique), SCF (Société Chimique de France), SFO (Société Française d’Optique), and SMAI (Société Mathématique Appliquées et Industrielle) and follows the sale of EDP Santé’s business assets a few months earlier, which CSPM did not wish to take over.

This is CSPM’s first investment in France.

In order to achieve its objectives, the latter will rely on the management and employees already in place at EDP Sciences. In this respect, neither the governance nor the management of the publication have been affected by the operation, which was also well received by the company’s contracting partners.

Jeantet’s team who advised CSPM Ltd and CSPM Europe was made up of Thierry Brun, You Shang, Maxime Brotz and Maria Plakci (M&A), Frédéric Sardain, Sophie Boinnot, and Claire Allavena (IP/IT) as well as Laetitia Ternisien and Meggane Saunier (Labour Law).

CSPM was also advised by KPMG Advisory China (Jessica Wang, Michael Jiang, and Alison Sun) on financial matters, and by Fidal (Louis-Emmanuel Ruggiu and Sylvain Gibon) on tax matters.

SFP, SCF, SFO and SMAI were advised by CPC & Associés (Arnaud Péricard, Priscilla Fiorucci, Paul Nafilyan, and Paul Marsal) for the legal aspects and by In Extenso (Serge Dahan, Alexandre Delbos, and Quentin Gros) for the financial aspects.

EDP Sciences was advised on regulatory aspects by Magaly Lhotel (Pixel Avocat).

menu
retour

Communiqués

Jeantet conseille l’éditeur CSPM Europe pour le rachat de la société EDP Sciences

Thierry Brun , You SHANG , Maxime Brotz , Maria Plakci , Frédéric Sardain , Sophie Boinnot , Claire Allavena , Laetitia Ternisien , Meggane SAUNIER

Paris, le 5 décembre 2019 – Jeantet a conseillé CSPM Europe, filiale française de l’éditeur CSPM (Chinese Science Publisching and Media) dans le cadre du rachat des actions d’EDP Sciences, société spécialisée dans l’édition de revues scientifiques en langue anglaise et dans la production et la distribution de revues scientifiques en langue française, pour le compte de sociétés savantes d’édition.

Cette opération a pour objectif de consolider l’avenir et les conditions de dévéloppement d’EDP Sciences (Edition Diffusion Presse Sciences) au niveau international et de permettre à CSPM de disposer d’un fonds scientifique européen sur des contenus à haute valeur ajoutées sur les matières scientifiques. Elle consacre la sortie totale des associations SFP (Société Française de Physique), SCF (Société Chimique de France), SFO (Société Française d’Optique), et SMAI (Société Mathématique Appliquées et Industrielle) et fait suite à la cession du fonds de commerce d’EDP Santé, intervenue quelques mois plus tôt et que CSPM ne souhaitait pas reprendre.

Il s’agit du premier investissement de CSPM en France.

Afin de réaliser ses objectifs, cette dernière s’appuiera sur le management et les salariés en place au niveau d’EDP Sciences. A cet égard, ni la gouvernance ni la direction de la publication n’ont été modifiées du fait de l’opération, qui a de surcroît été bien accueillie par les cocontractants de la société.

L’équipe du cabinet Jeantet pour conseiller CSPM Ltd et CSPM Europe était composée de Thierry Brun, You Shang, Maxime Brotz et Maria Plakci pour le M&A, de Frédéric Sardain, Sophie Boinnot, Claire Allavena (IP/IT) ainsi que de Laetitia Ternisien et Meggane Saunier (social).

CSPM était aussi conseillé par le cabinet KPMG Advisory China (Jessica Wang, Michael Jiang et Alison Sun) pour les aspects financiers, ainsi que par le cabinet Fidal (Louis-Emmanuel Ruggiu et Sylvain Gibon) pour les aspects fiscaux.

SFP, SCF, SFO et SMAI étaient conseillées par CPC & Associés (Arnaud Péricard, Priscilla Fiorucci, Paul Nafilyan et Paul Marsal) pour les aspects juridiques et par In Extenso (Serge Dahan, Alexandre Delbos et Quentin Gros) pour les aspects financiers.

EDP Sciences était conseillée, pour les aspects réglementaires, par Magaly Lhotel.