menu
back

Newsletters

Town planning procedures, regulatory timelines and impacts of COVID-19

Adrien Fourmon

The lockdown linked to the coronavirus, imposed since March 16, has had an impact on many real estate projects and operations, and in fact raises a number of questions in terms of urban planning. Since the beginning of the lockdown, many local authorities and actors in the field of urban planning law have thus found themselves confronted with difficulties in pursuing their activities, due to the lack of clear instructions in terms of urban planning from the State.

Indeed, the application of the numerous deadlines applicable in the field of town planning raises various questions. Order n° 2020-306 of 25 March 2020 relating to the extension of deadlines during the health emergency period and the adaptation of procedures during this same period (“Expired deadlines” Order), published in the JORF of 26 March 2020, provides some answers, at least provisionally.

The main purpose of the “Expired deadlines” Ordinance, adopted on the basis of Emergency Act No. 2020-290 of 23 March 2020 to deal with the covid-19 epidemic, is to “adjust the deadlines that have expired during the period of health emergency and adapt procedures during this same period”.

 

Title 1 of the Ordinance “Expired deadlines” is devoted to the general provisions on the extension of time limits. The general scope of the measures enacted thus makes it possible to include the field of town planning. Generally speaking, the time limits for investigations are suspended or postponed depending on whether they began to run before 12 March (suspension and postponement) or after this date (complete postponement), and the time limits for appeals are extended.

Article 2 provides that “any act, appeal, legal action, formality, registration, declaration, notification or publication prescribed by law or regulation shall be subject to nullity, sanction, lapse, foreclosure, prescription, inopposability, inadmissibility, expiry, automatic withdrawal, application of a special regime, nullity or forfeiture of any right whatsoever and which should have been accomplished during the period mentioned in Article 1 shall be deemed to have been done in time if it has been done within a period which may not exceed, as from the end of that period, the period legally prescribed for taking action, up to a limit of two months.

The same applies to any payment prescribed by law or regulation for the acquisition or retention of a right.”

In concrete terms, the effect of Article 2 of the “Expired deadlines” Ordinance is to prohibit the act from being regarded as late, if it took place within the new deadline. Moreover, it should be noted in this respect that the Report to the President of the Republic on the said “Expired deadlines” Ordinance specifies in this respect that “the Ordinance does not provide for abolishing the performance of any act or formality whose term expires within the period in question; it merely allows the act performed within the additional time limit to be considered as not being late”.

Article 2 of the “Expired deadlines” Ordinance thus postpones the deadlines for appeals by third parties against a planning permission; the deadlines for contentious appeals expiring between 12 March 2020 and 24 June 2020 are therefore postponed to 25 June 2020 and run until 25 August 2020.

In other words, a permit posted during the state of health emergency should not cause the contentious period to run, which will start automatically on 25 June (end of the state of emergency plus 1 month).

In fact, if it is recommended for the petitioners to post their planning permission during the period of a state of health emergency, this permit posted during the period of confinement may not allow the third party to see the project. However, the purpose of posting a building permit is concretely to ensure that third parties are aware of the project and enable them to preserve their rights and to appeal against the authorization. It therefore seems equally advisable to provide for an additional posting as of 25 June 2020 for a maximum of two months in any event, and to carry out, as a precautionary measure, observations of this posting by a bailiff at the end of the health emergency period.

This measure will extend the period of time for third parties to appeal against a planning permission. In concrete terms and by way of illustration, a planning permission, posted on the land as from 30 January 2020 and whose appeal period was in principle due to expire on 31 March 2020, could therefore be challenged in court until the expiry of a period of two months from the end of that period, that is to say 25 August 2020.

Similarly, the author of an appeal must in principle notify his appeal within 15 days to the holder of the authorization, on pain of inadmissibility (Article R.600-1 of the Town Planning Code); however, if this 15-day period expires during the period of health emergency, it will be interrupted as of 12 March 2020 and a new period will begin on 25 June 2020 for a period of 15 days, i.e. until 9 July 2020.

However, it should be noted that the Circular of the Ministry of Justice of 26 March 2020 N°CIV/01/20 presenting the provisions of Title I of Order No. 2020-306 of 25 March 2020 relating to the extension of time limits that expired during the period of health emergency and the adaptation of procedures during this same period (NOR: JUSC 2008608C), specifies that these provisions concern only the time limits that expired or the acts that had to be performed during the period of health emergency.

 

Title II of the Ordinance “Expired deadlines” also lays down special provisions on time limits and procedures in administrative matters, in order to take account of certain specific features of administrative action.

First of all, with regard to the period of validity of town planning authorizations and related administrative authorizations, Article 3 of the “Expired deadlines” Ordinance provides in particular for the automatic extension of “3rd authorizations, permits and approvals” whose term expired at the end of a period of two months following the end of this period”, i.e. provisionally on June 24, 2020, except for any subsequent postponement linked to the evolution of the pandemic.

Article 7 of the Order provides in this respect that “subject to obligations arising from an international commitment or European Union law, the periods at the end of which a decision, agreement or opinion of one of the bodies or persons referred to in Article 6 may or must be reached or is implicitly acquired and which have not expired before 12 March 2020 shall, on that date, be suspended until the end of the period referred to in I of Article 1.

The starting point of time limits of the same kind which should have started to run during the period referred to in Article 1(I) shall be postponed until the end of that period.

The same rules shall apply to the time limits for the same bodies or persons to verify the completeness of a dossier or to request additional documents in connection with the examination of an application, as well as to the time limits for public consultation or participation.”

Article 8 then provides that “where they have not expired before 12 March 2020, the time limits imposed by the administration, in accordance with the law and regulations, on any person to carry out inspections and work or to comply with requirements of any kind shall, on that date, be suspended until the end of the period mentioned in Article 1(I), except where they result from a court decision”.

The starting point for similar time limits which should have started to run during the period referred to in Article 1(I) shall be postponed until the end of that period. »

In practice, it follows from these provisions that the period of validity of building authorizations, commercial operating authorizations or approvals issued under town planning law, which were due to expire between 12 March 2020 and 24 June 2020 (subject to the extension of the state of health emergency), are extended for two months following the end of that period, i.e. until 24 August 2020.

The deadlines for processing authorization applications have been adapted, with a moratorium proving indispensable, in order to avoid, in particular, the organizational difficulties resulting from this period of containment leading to the issuance of tacit authorizations, in accordance with the provisions of Article L. 424-2 of the Urban Planning Code, but unintentionally.

In addition, Article 8 interrupts, over the same period, the time limits imposed by the administration in order to carry out the checks and work relating to the declarations attesting the completion and conformity of the work (DAACT).

Finally, Order No. 2020-305 of 25 March 2020 adapting the rules applicable before the administrative courts, which provides, in particular, a framework for the extension of the time limits for proceedings and judgments in matters of urban planning litigation by expressly referring to the provisions of Article 2 of the Order “Expired deadlines”.

Finally, it should be noted that there is no doubt about the application of these provisions in terms of town planning. The Ministry of Territorial Cohesion and Relations with Local and Regional Authorities has recently stated on its site that:

“The order includes measures suspending the time limits applicable to applications to the administrative authorities. This concerns applications giving rise to a decision by an administrative authority, and in particular implicit decisions of acceptance or rejection, as well as the time limits set for the actors involved in the procedure for examining such applications. By way of illustration, applications formulated in the field of soil law (declaration of works, building permits, development permits, etc.) are covered, as well as the deadlines applicable to declarations presented to the administrative authorities, for example a declaration of intent to dispose (DIA).

The same applies to deadlines for consultation of the public or any body or authority prior to a decision being taken by an administrative authority. For example, these provisions will make it possible to suspend ongoing public consultations or inquiries, or to allow consultation with bodies which have been unable to meet. Finally, authorizations, permits and approvals issued by an administrative authority will also be extended.” (Source: https://www.cohesion-territoires.gouv.fr/les-collectivites-territoriales-et-leurs-groupements-ordonnances-du-conseil-des-ministres-du-25 )

Thus, it is possible to consider that all the requests formulated in terms of soil law (declaration of works, building permit, development permit, etc.) are covered by this suspension as well as the time limits for investigation, appeal, legality control, investigation of declarations of intent to dispose, as well as certificate applications.

It remains that the right to an effective remedy – a constitutional principle, also provided for in Article 6 § 1 of the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms – must guide the reflection as well as the useful effect of public participation.

It is important to note that a decree may, however, determine the category of acts, procedures and obligations for which the course of time limits resumes, or set a date for the resumption of the time limit provided that the persons concerned are informed “for reasons of protection of the fundamental interests of the Nation, security, health protection, public health, The “thawing” of the deadlines for the implementation of various environmental requirements has already been illustrated by Decree No. 2020-383 of 1 April 2020, which derogates from the principle of suspending deadlines during the period of health emergencies linked to the covid-19 epidemic. In view of the disputes from professionals in the real estate and construction sector concerning in particular the suspension of investigation deadlines or the extension of appeal deadlines, other exemptions in urban planning could thus be adopted by decree or through a new ordinance.

In terms of administrative deadlines and to prepare the conditions for the future recovery, increased vigilance is required, while the building and public works sector has already published a recommendation guide produced by the OPPTB on the measures to be implemented to ensure the necessary sanitary conditions for building and public works personnel called upon to work on building sites, for the continuity of construction activities.

menu
retour

Newsletters

Procédures d’urbanisme, délais réglementaires et impacts du COVID-19

Adrien Fourmon

Le confinement lié au coronavirus, imposé depuis le 16 mars dernier, impacte de nombreux projets et opérations immobilières, et amène de fait certaines interrogations, en matière d’urbanisme. Depuis le début du confinement, beaucoup de collectivités et d’acteurs du droit de l’urbanisme se sont ainsi trouvés confronté à des difficultés pour poursuivre leurs activités, faute d’instruction claire en matière d’urbanisme de la part de l’État.

En effet, l’application des nombreux délais applicables en matière d’urbanisme soulève en effet différentes d’interrogations. L’Ordonnance n° 2020-306 du 25 mars 2020 relative à la prorogation des délais échus pendant la période d’urgence sanitaire et à l’adaptation des procédures pendant cette même période (Ordonnance « Délais échus »), publiée au JORF du 26 mars 2020, permet d’apporter certains éléments de réponses, à tout le moins provisoirement.

L’Ordonnance « Délais échus », prise sur le fondement de la loi n° 2020-290 du 23 mars 2020 d’urgence pour faire face à l’épidémie de covid-19, a pour principal objet « l’aménagement des délais échus pendant la période d’urgence sanitaire et l’adaptation des procédures durant cette même période ».

 

Le titre 1er de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus » est consacré aux dispositions générales prises en matière de prorogation des délais. La portée générale des mesures édictées permet ainsi d’y inclure le domaine de l’urbanisme. Globalement, les délais d’instruction sont suspendus ou reportés selon qu’ils ont commencé à courir avant le 12 mars (suspension et report de l’encours) ou après cette date (report complet), et les délais de recours sont prorogés.

L’article 2 dispose en effet que « tout acte, recours, action en justice, formalité, inscription, déclaration, notification ou publication prescrit par la loi ou le règlement à peine de nullité, sanction, caducité, forclusion, prescription, inopposabilité, irrecevabilité, péremption, désistement d’office, application d’un régime particulier, non avenu ou déchéance d’un droit quelconque et qui aurait dû être accompli pendant la période mentionnée à l’article 1er sera réputé avoir été fait à temps s’il a été effectué dans un délai qui ne peut excéder, à compter de la fin de cette période, le délai légalement imparti pour agir, dans la limite de deux mois.

Il en est de même de tout paiement prescrit par la loi ou le règlement en vue de l’acquisition ou de la conservation d’un droit. »

Concrètement, l’effet de l’article 2 de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus » est d’interdire que l’acte puisse être regardé comme tardif, s’il est intervenu dans le nouveau délai imparti. D’ailleurs, il convient de noter à ce titre que le Rapport au Président de la République de ladite Ordonnance « Délais échus » précise à cet égard que « l’ordonnance ne prévoit pas de supprimer la réalisation de tout acte ou formalité dont le terme échoit dans la période visée ; elle permet simplement de considérer comme n’étant pas tardif l’acte réalisé dans le délai supplémentaire imparti ».

L’article 2 de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus » reporte ainsi les délais de recours des tiers contre une autorisation d’urbanisme ; les délais de recours contentieux expirant entre le 12 mars 2020 et le 24 juin 2020, sont dès lors reportés au 25 juin 2020 et courent jusqu’au 25 août 2020.

En d’autres termes, un permis affiché pendant l’état d’urgence sanitaire ne devrait pas faire courir le délai contentieux, qui s’enclenchera automatiquement à compter du 25 juin (fin de l’état d’urgence plus 1 mois).

En effet, s’il s’avère recommandé pour les pétitionnaires de procéder à l’affichage de leur autorisation d’urbanisme pendant la période d’état d’urgence sanitaire, ce permis affiché en période de confinement risque de ne pas permettre au tiers de prendre connaissance du projet. Or, l’objectif de l’affichage d’un permis de construire est concrètement d’assurer la connaissance par les tiers du projet et lui permettre de préserver leurs droits et de former un recours contre l’autorisation. Il semble donc tout autant recommandé de prévoir un affichage complémentaire compter du 25 juin 2020 pour deux mois au maximum en tout état de cause, et d’effectuer, par précaution, des constatations de cet affichage par voie d’huissier, à la fin de la période d’urgence sanitaire.

Cette mesure aura pour effet d’allonger le délai dont dispose les tiers pour former un recours contre une autorisation d’urbanisme. Concrètement et à titre d’illustration, une autorisation d’urbanisme, affichée sur le terrain à compter du 30 janvier 2020 et dont le délai de recours devait en principe expirer le 31 mars 2020, pourrait donc être attaquée en justice jusqu’à l’expiration d’un délai de deux mois à compter de la fin de cette période, c’est-à-dire le 25 août 2020.

De même, l’auteur d’un recours doit en principe notifier son recours dans un délai de 15 jours au titulaire de l’autorisation, à peine d’irrecevabilité (art. R.600-1 du Code de l’Urbanisme) ; Cependant, si ce délai de 15 jours arrive à expiration pendant la période d’urgence sanitaire, il sera interrompu à compter du 12 mars 2020 et un nouveau délai commencera à courir le 25 juin 2020 pour une durée de 15 jours, soit jusqu’au 9 juillet 2020.

Cependant, on notera que la Circulaire du Ministère de la Justice du 26 mars 2020 N°CIV/01/20 de présentation des dispositions du titre I de l’ordonnance n° 2020-306 du 25 mars 2020 relative à la prorogation des délais échus pendant la période d’urgence sanitaire et à l’adaptation des procédures pendant cette même période (NOR : JUSC 2008608C), précise que ces dispositions ne concernent que les délais qui sont arrivés à échéance ou les actes qui devaient être accomplis pendant la période d’état d’urgence sanitaire.

 

Le Titre II de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus » prévoit en outre des dispositions particulières aux délais et procédures en matière administrative, afin de tenir compte de certaines spécificités de l’action administrative.

Tout d’abord, s’agissant de la durée de validité des autorisations d’urbanisme et autorisations administratives connexes, l’article 3 de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus » prévoit notamment la prorogation de plein droit des « 3° autorisations, permis et agréments » dont le terme arrivait à échéance à l’expiration d’un délai de deux mois suivant la fin de cette période », soit prévisionnellement le 24 juin 2020, sauf éventuel report ultérieur lié à l’évolution de la pandémie.

L’article 7 de l’ordonnance dispose à cet égard que « sous réserve des obligations qui découlent d’un engagement international ou du droit de l’Union européenne, les délais à l’issue desquels une décision, un accord ou un avis de l’un des organismes ou personnes mentionnés à l’article 6 peut ou doit intervenir ou est acquis implicitement et qui n’ont pas expiré avant le 12 mars 2020 sont, à cette date, suspendus jusqu’à la fin de la période mentionnée au I de l’article 1er.

Le point de départ des délais de même nature qui auraient dû commencer à courir pendant la période mentionnée au I de l’article 1er est reporté jusqu’à l’achèvement de celle-ci.

Les mêmes règles s’appliquent aux délais impartis aux mêmes organismes ou personnes pour vérifier le caractère complet d’un dossier ou pour solliciter des pièces complémentaires dans le cadre de l’instruction d’une demande ainsi qu’aux délais prévus pour la consultation ou la participation du public. »

Ensuite, l’article 8 prévoit que « lorsqu’ils n’ont pas expiré avant le 12 mars 2020, les délais imposés par l’administration, conformément à la loi et au règlement, à toute personne pour réaliser des contrôles et des travaux ou pour se conformer à des prescriptions de toute nature sont, à cette date, suspendus jusqu’à la fin de la période mentionnée au I de l’article 1er, sauf lorsqu’ils résultent d’une décision de justice

Le point de départ des délais de même nature qui auraient dû commencer à courir pendant la période mentionnée au I de l’article 1er est reporté jusqu’à l’achèvement de celle-ci. »

En pratique, il résulte de ces dispositions que le délai de validité des autorisations de construire, des autorisations d’exploitation commerciale ou des agréments délivrés au titre du droit de l’urbanisme, dont le délai de péremption devait intervenir entre le 12 mars 2020 et le 24 juin 2020 (sous réserve de l’allongement de l’état d’urgence sanitaire), sont prorogés d’une durée de deux mois suivant la fin de cette période, soit jusqu’au 24 août 2020.

Les délais d’instruction des demandes d’autorisation ont été adaptés, un moratoire s’avérant indispensable, afin d’éviter, notamment, que les difficultés d’organisation résultant de cette période de confinement n’entraînent la délivrance d’autorisations tacites, conformément aux dispositions de l’article L. 424-2 du code de l’urbanisme, mais de manière involontaire.

En outre, l’article 8 interrompt, sur la même période, les délais imposés par l’administration, afin de réaliser les contrôles et les travaux relatifs aux déclarations attestant l’achèvement et la conformité des travaux (DAACT).

Enfin, l’ordonnance n° 2020-305 du 25 mars 2020 portant adaptation des règles applicables devant les juridictions de l’ordre administratif, laquelle encadre notamment la prorogation des délais de procédures et de jugement en matière de contentieux d’urbanisme en renvoyant expressément aux dispositions de l’article 2 de l’Ordonnance « Délais échus ».

A noter en définitive que l’application de ces dispositions en matière d’urbanisme ne fait aucun doute, le Ministère de la Cohésion des territoires et des Relations avec les collectivités territoriales a récemment précisé sur son site que :

« L’ordonnance comporte des mesures suspendant les délais applicables aux demandes présentées aux autorités administratives. Sont concernées les demandes donnant lieu à une décision d’une autorité administrative, et notamment des décisions implicites d’acceptation ou de rejet ainsi que les délais fixés pour les acteurs pris dans le cadre de la procédure d’instruction de ces demandes. A titre d’illustration, les demandes formulées en matière de droit des sols (déclaration de travaux, permis de construire, permis d’aménager, etc…) sont visées, ainsi que les délais applicables aux déclarations présentées aux autorités administratives, par exemple une déclaration d’intention d’aliéner (DIA).

 Il en est de même pour les délais de consultation du public ou de toute instance ou autorité, préalables à la prise d’une décision par une autorité administrative. Par exemple, ces dispositions permettront de suspendre des consultations ou des enquêtes publiques en cours, ou de permettre la consultation d’instances qui n’auront pu se réunir. Enfin, les autorisations, permis et agréments délivrés par une autorité administrative seront par ailleurs prorogés. » (Source : https://www.cohesion-territoires.gouv.fr/les-collectivites-territoriales-et-leurs-groupements-ordonnances-du-conseil-des-ministres-du-25 )

Ainsi, il est possible de considérer que l’ensemble des demandes formulées en matière de droit des sols (déclaration de travaux, permis de construire, permis d’aménager, etc.) sont visées par cette suspension ainsi que les délais d’instruction, de recours, de contrôle de légalité, d’instruction des déclarations d’intentions d’aliéner, comme de demande de certificat.

Reste que le droit à un recours effectif principe constitutionnel, également prévu par l’article 6 § 1 de la Convention européenne de sauvegarde des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales doit guider la réflexion de même que l’effet utile de la participation du public.

Il est important de noter qu’un décret pourra toutefois déterminer la catégorie des actes, procédures et obligations pour lesquels le cours des délais reprend, ou fixer une date de reprise du délai à condition d’en informer les personnes concernées « pour des motifs de protection des intérêts fondamentaux de la Nation, de sécurité, de protection de la santé, de la salubrité publique, de préservation de l’environnement et de protection de l’enfance et de la jeunesse », comme cela a d’ailleurs déjà été le cas, à titre d’illustration, avec le « dégel » du cours des délais de réalisation de différentes prescriptions en matière environnementale, par un Décret n° 2020-383 du 1er avril 2020 portant dérogation au principe de suspension des délais pendant la période d’urgence sanitaire liée à l’épidémie de covid-19. Au vu des contestations de la part des professionnels du secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction concernant en particulier la suspension des délais d’instruction ou la prorogation des délais de recours d’autres dérogations en matière d’urbanisme pourraient ainsi être adoptées par décret ou au travers d’un nouvelle ordonnance.

En matière de délais administratifs et pour préparer les conditions de la reprise à venir, une vigilance accrue s’impose, alors que le secteur du BTP vient d’ores et déjà de publier un guide de préconisations réalisé par l’OPPTB sur les mesures à mettre en œuvre pour assurer les conditions sanitaires nécessaires aux personnels du BTP appelés à travailler sur les chantiers, pour la continuité des activités de construction.