menu
back

Newsletters

Coronavirus: what consequences on financing agreements?

Jean-François Adelle , Tamara Mammadova , Thibault Mercier

The covid19 global crisis and the relating lockdown measures will strongly impact the activity of borrowers and the value of their assets. Their repayment capacity and their liquidity needs will also be affected.

The crisis also impacts lenders and the operation of financial markets.

We outline advice to meet the difficulties that may arise in the implementation and negotiation of financing agreements.

1.MONITORING THE DEFAULT RISK FOR THE BORROWER

In addition to the risk of payment default due to cash flow shortage which would enable the lender to accelerate the loan and enforce securities, the debtor must focus on the following clauses, the breach of which constitutes an event of default.

Information undertaking

Credit agreements generally contain information undertakings of the debtor, in particular the undertaking to update any information provided to the lenders which would have become inaccurate and, at their request to inform the lender or the agent, of any changes in the borrower’s financial and operational situation. Borrowers should therefore be prepared to provide adequate and detailed information and, given the evolving nature of the coronavirus crisis, periodically update such with respect to the practical effects of the disruptions on their business activity and forecasts.

Top-up provisions in security documents

Top-up provisions create an obligation for the pledgor, in the event of a decrease in the value of the asset granted as security below a certain threshold set out in the agreement, to provide new security interests over assets acceptable to the creditors in order to compensate for such decrease in value. Due to the considerable decrease of stock market prices in the past month, this clause finds an immediate and harsh  application in the case of pledge over listed securities, putting the debtor at risk if it does not have sufficient new assets to offer.

Breach of covenant

The abruptness of lock down measures and the disruption of supply chains can quickly lead to the breach of ratio covenants, in particular the leverage ratio (consolidated net debt divided by consolidated operating income), on the next test date.

Assets disposal undertaking

When the borrower has agreed to implement an asset disposal plan within a certain timeframe to reduce its indebtedness, the strong plunge of the stock market, the uncertainty over global activity and the suspension of negotiations caused by the Covid 19 crisis for example may call into question the respect of the borrower’s commitments, .

Can the creditor rely on a Material Adverse Change or Event?

The Material Adverse Change (MAC) or Material Adverse Event (MAE) clauses allow the lender to suspend, terminate or renegotiate the credit agreement in case of occurrence of a significant event that affects immediately or in the future the borrower’s business, assets or financial situation and consequently its ability to meet its repayment obligations.

This change or event does not need to be temporary or known to the lender prior to the conclusion of the contract, but it may be an event of a systemic nature and it is not required that it is unpredictable and irresistible. The lender may then accelerate the loan or at least refuse any new drawdown.

To date, the Covid19 crisis seems too recent and the persistence of the disruptions it causes far too uncertain for a lender to be able to decide to accelerate or to refuse a drawdown for this very reason without taking the risk to pay damages.

The risk of cross-default

Cross-default clauses, when stipulated, allow creditors to accelerate in the event of a default under another credit, bond or derivative agreement. Their implementation can have a domino effect on the borrower. Contracts affected by such a cross-default clause must also be audited.

2. WHAT PROTECTION CLAUSES AND TOOLS CAN BE ACTIVATED BY THE BORROWER AGAINST THE EFFECTS OF THE COVID-19 CRISIS?

Faced with the risk of default caused by disruptions linked to the Covid 19, many protection mechanisms are available to the borrower.

Contractual cure

Credit agreements may grant borrowers a cure period in the event of the occurrence of a contractual event of default. These contractual provisions will have to be verified. This cure period (being usually fairly short) will probably be insufficient to allow for full remediation of defaults that may arise from a strong and evolving crisis such as the Covid 19 pandemic.

Waiver / amendment

If the cure period is insufficient or not adapted, the debtor may request a waiver of an event of default. It should be recalled that lenders are in principle allowed to request for a waiver fee.

Depending on the impact of the Covid 19 on its repayment capacity, the borrower may ask for the postponement of one or more instalments, an extension of the credit period, an extension of the covenant test period, or a waiver of any top-up provisions.

Force Majeure

Could a borrower rely on Force Majeure to suspend repayment under its loan for the duration of the Covid 19 crisis?

If the contract contains a Force Majeure clause, one shall refer to it. Under French law, Force Majeure is not of public order and the parties are free to agree on its definition and its consequences or even to exclude it.

The legal regime of Force Majeure set out under Article 1218 of the French Civil Code has been amended in 2016. Force Majeure occurs only if the event (i) is beyond the control of the debtor, (ii) could not reasonably have been foreseen at the time of the conclusion of the contract, (iii) has effects that cannot be avoided by appropriate measures and (iv) prevents the performance of the obligation by the debtor.

This regime applies only to contracts entered into or modified since April 2, 2017. For earlier contracts, the old regime remains applicable. The latter requires that the event be unforeseeable, irresistible and external.

In all cases, if the impossibility to perform the obligations under the contract is temporary, the contract is not terminated but only suspended, whereas if the impossibility to perform the contract is permanent, the contract is automatically terminated and the parties are definitively released from their obligations.

As for contracts subject to the new regime, three conditions must be satisfied for the debtor to be relieved from its obligations:

  1. The health crisis is beyond its control. This is not disputable in terms of the effect of the crisis on its order book and the disruption of its supply-chain, as well as the disorganization caused by the legal closure measures. The illness of the debtor’s employees may also taken into account if it is not the result of the debtor’s risky conduct.
  2. The health crisis is reasonably unforeseeable at the time of the entry into of the contract. Otherwise, the debtor shall be deemed to have agreed to bear this risk. In the case of a viral epidemic, it has been held that Force Majeure is not characterized when the epidemic existed prior to the contract (Saint-Denis de la Réunion, 29 Dec.2009, No. 08/02114 – in the case of chikungunya). This condition will be satisfied except for contracts concluded since the appearance or spread of Covid 19 i.e. end of February or beginning of March 2020.
  3. Finally, the effects of the event cannot be avoided by appropriate measures, i.e. the debtor must first take appropriate measures to try to limit the effects of the crisis and fulfil its repayment obligations or mitigate its default. It is therefore not sufficient for the debtor to have little control over the direct effects of the Covid 19 crisis on its business stemming from the mandatory lock-down and deferral measures, but the debtor must reasonably attempt to mitigate the effects on its payment obligations. Certain sectors (luxury, event industry, hotel and catering, tourism, transport, energy) are very affected by the crisis, but the debtor’s actual situation and the effect of the aid measures enacted by the government (postponement of payment of social security charges, unemployment compnesation, etc.) must also be taken into account.

In the light of the case law which has clarified the criteria for the application of Force Majeure in the previous regime and the characteristics of the Covid 19 crisis, those conditions would in substance also apply to previous contracts.

The notification of a Force Majeure event might prove to be a useful defensive weapon for certain debtors wishing to have the performance of their payment obligations suspended and to negotiate as best as they can an adjustment to their contract without waiver fees (suspension of repayment obligations, provision of new security, release of interests, etc.). The notification made to the lender should seek to identify the concrete effects of the Covid 19 crisis on the debtor and their impact on its contractual obligations despite reasonable efforts. However, the temporary and evolving nature of the crisis does not currently allow to invoke it to terminate a credit agreement.

Can the Covid 19 crisis be invoked to trigger hardship?

Since 2016, Article 1195 of the French Civil Code allows for renegotiation of the contract in the event of a change in circumstances which could not have been foreseen at the time the contract was entered into and rendering the performance of the contract excessively onerous for a party who had not agreed to assume the risk.

Could a party to a loan agreement request renegotiation of the contract from its co-contractor (in particular if that party has to implement particularly onerous measures to face the epidemic)?

In practice, the question does not arise in credit and security agreements, as such clause does not apply to contracts prior to the 2016 reform of the French Civil Code and is generally set aside in those concluded since its entry into force.

Legal grace period

The judge may grant a delay or reschedule, within a limit of two years, the payment of sums due or to be due by a debtor, taking into account the situation of the debtor and the needs of the creditors (Article 1343-5 of the Civil Code), even after the opening of proceedings.

Preventive and safeguard procedures

If the Covid 19 crisis causes insurmountable difficulties for certain debtors despite the temporary suspension of their obligations, it could be considered to resort to preventive procedures of ad hoc mandate and conciliation or even to safeguard.

3. IMPACT OF THE COVID-19 CRISIS ON THE FINANCING OF RENEWABLE ENERGY PROJECTS - by Christophe Jacomin

The COVID-19 crisis is likely to significantly disrupt financing operations for renewable energy infrastructure. Indeed, the equipment needed to build this infrastructure is produced in Asia, which has been largely affected by this new virus, and this could have several consequences for current financing contracts.

Firstly, in so-called ‘greenfield’ financing (i.e. financing the construction of infrastructure), delays in supply can lead developers to fail to meet the consolidation date set by the debt documentation. Second, some lenders may consider the Coronavirus outbreak as a “Material Adverse Effect” (MEA), the definition of which is often broadly defined in credit agreements. This qualification would lead to an event of default under the terms of the credit documentation, which would be likely to result in the early repayment of the entire debt and the realisation of the collateral. Finally, some may consider the Covid epidemic19 to be a case of force majeure, exempting the co-contractors from the consequences in terms of the performance of the said contracts.

In this respect, it would appear that the players involved in these financings must show anticipation. When a supply or scheduling difficulty is identified, it seems useful to discuss and conclude a waiver or an amendment adjusting the contractual situation of the parties to the new circumstances. It is also possible to negotiate a moratorium on interest on the debt.

4. WHAT PROTECTION FOR CREDITORS?

The Covid crisis19 also impacts creditors. Exceptional measures are expected to be taken in order to lighten their obligations with respect to capital adequacy or stress testing, and enable them to assist companies with dealing to the crisis.

Certain provisions instated to protect their interests could also be activated depending on the impact of the Covid crisis19 on the financial markets. In particular, the following should be mentioned:

Market flex/Market Mac/Market Disruption clauses

These clauses, common under underwriting and syndication agreements, allow the financial party to renegotiate the terms of an offer, or cancel or modify its commitment in the event of a major event affecting the financial markets.

Credit Default Swaps

Credit default swap contracts allow the lender to protect himself against the borrower’s credit risk. In case of CDSs governed by the International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA) master agreement, it is the ISDA itself that will decide whether an event of default has occurred, allowing the swap to be applied or not. The conditions for enforcement of CDSs in connection with the Covid 19 crisis will have to be closely followed.

5. PRACTICAL RECOMMANDATIONS

The fast and brutal spread of the Covid19 crisis requires parties to assess its potential effects on their obligations under their financing agreements. They need without delay to start auditing their contracts and anticipate the enforcement of adequate protection provisions.

For contracts under negotiation, we will recall that as the parties as now aware of the crisis, protection provisions will not be able to be applied as such. It could be contemplated to strengthen them.

Jeantet Banking & Finance team is at your disposal to respond to these questions.

menu
retour

Newsletters

Coronavirus : Quels impacts sur les contrats de financement ?

Jean-François Adelle , Tamara Mammadova , Thibault Mercier

La crise sanitaire mondiale du Coronavirus (Covid19) et les mesures de confinement prises pour tenter d’enrayer la pandémie sont susceptibles d’affecter fortement l’activité des emprunteurs, la valeur de leurs actifs et partant à la fois leur capacité à faire face à leurs obligations et leur besoin de liquidités.

Elle a également un impact sur les prêteurs et le fonctionnement des marchés financiers. Nous vous proposons quelques pistes pour gérer au mieux les difficultés qui surviendraient dans l’exécution des contrats de crédits existants et négocier la conclusion de nouveaux crédits.

1.MAITRISE DU RISQUE DE DÉFAUT PAR L'EMPRUNTEUR

Outre le risque de défaut de paiement d’une échéance provoqué par des difficultés de trésorerie permettant au prêteur de prononcer la déchéance du terme et réaliser les suretés, le débiteur doit être attentif aux clauses suivantes, dont la violation constitue un cas de défaut.

Obligation d’information

Le contrat de crédits prévoit généralement une obligation d’information à la charge du débiteur, notamment pour mettre à jour toute information communiquée qui deviendrait inexacte et à la demande du prêteur ou de l’agent informer celui-ci sur l’évolution de la situation financière et opérationnelle de l’emprunteur. Dès lors, les emprunteurs doivent se préparer à fournir des informations circonstanciées et, compte tenu du caractère évolutif de la crise du coronavirus, périodiquement mises à jour sur l’effet pratique des perturbations sur leur activité et leurs prévisions.

Clause d’arrosage dans les sûretés

La clause d’arrosage oblige le constituant au cas de baisse de la valeur de l’actif donné en sûreté en deçà d’un certain seuil fixé dans l’acte, à apporter de nouvelles sûretés sur des actifs acceptables par le créancier pour compenser cette baisse de valeur. En raison de la chute considérable des cours de bourse depuis un mois, cette clause trouve une application immédiate et sévère au cas de nantissement de titres cotés, mettant le débiteur en difficulté s’il ne dispose pas d’actifs nouveaux suffisants à offrir.

Bris de covenant

Le caractère brutal des mesures de confinement et de la rupture de certaines supply chains peut rapidement conduire au bris d’un covenant sur certains ratios, notamment le ratio de levier (dette nette consolidée divisée par le résultat d’exploitation consolidé), à la prochaine date de test.

Engagement de cession d’actifs

Lorsque l’emprunteur s’est engagé à mettre en œuvre un plan de cession d’actifs dans un certain calendrier pour réduire son endettement, la forte décote boursière, l’incertitude sur l’activité globale et la suspension des négociations liée à la crise du Covid 19 peuvent remettre en cause le respect de ses engagements.

Le créancier peut-il se prévaloir d’un évènement défavorable significatif (Material Adverse Change ou Event) ?

Les clauses dites de changement ou événement significatif défavorable (EDS) (Material Adverse Change (MAC) ou Material Adverse Event (MAE) en anglais)) autorisent le prêteur à suspendre, résilier ou renégocier le contrat de crédits en cas de survenance d’un événement significatif affectant immédiatement ou à terme l’activité, les actifs ou la situation financière de l’emprunteur et par conséquent sa capacité à s’acquitter de ses obligations de remboursement.

Ce changement ou cet évènement ne doit pas être temporaire ni connu du prêteur avant la conclusion du contrat, mais il peut s’agir d’un événement de nature systémique et il n’est pas nécessaire qu’il soit imprévisible et irrésistible. Le prêteur peut alors prononcer l’exigibilité anticipée ou au moins refuser tout nouveau tirage.

A ce jour, la crise du coronavirus paraît trop récente et la persistance des perturbations qu’elle entraîne beaucoup trop incertaine pour qu’un prêteur puisse décider de prononcer la déchéance du terme ou refuser un tirage pour ce seul motif sans s’exposer à un risque sérieux de dommages intérêts pour mise en œuvre abusive.

Le risque de défaut croisé (cross-default)

Les clauses de défaut croisé lorsqu’elles sont stipulées permettent aux créanciers d’exiger le remboursement immédiat en cas de défaut de paiement constaté dans un autre contrat de crédit, émission obligataire ou de produits dérivés. Leur mise en jeu entraîne un effet domino pour l’emprunteur. Les contrats visés par la clause de défaut croisé doivent aussi être audités.

2. QUELS SONT LES CLAUSES ET OUTILS DE PROTECTION ACTIONNABLES PAR L'EMPRUNTEUR FACE AUX EFFETS DE LA CRISE COVID-19 ?

Face au risque de défaut provoqué par les perturbations liées au Covid19, l’emprunteur dispose d’une gradation de mécanismes de protections.

Remédiation contractuelle

Les contrats de crédits peuvent accorder un délai de remédiation aux emprunteurs en cas de survenance d’un cas de défaut contractuel. Ces stipulations contractuelles devront être vérifiées. Ce délai généralement bref sera sans doute inadapté pour résoudre les manquements susceptibles de découler d’une crise extrinsèque forte et évolutive comme celle du Covid19.

Waiver / avenant

Si la période de remédiation est insuffisante ou inadaptée, le débiteur peut solliciter un waiver sur un cas de défaut. Rappelons que les prêteurs sont en principe fondés à demander en contrepartie le versement d’une commission.

En fonction de l’impact du Covid19 sur ses capacités de remboursement, l’emprunteur pourra demander le report d’une ou plusieurs échéances, un allongement du crédit, la prorogation de la période de test de covenant, ou une dérogation à la mise en œuvre de la clause d’arrosage.

La force majeure peut-elle être invoquée ?

Un emprunteur pourrait-il invoquer la force majeure pour suspendre purement et simplement le remboursement de ses échéances pendant la durée de la crise du Covid19 ?

Si le contrat contient une clause de force majeure, il convient de s’y reporter. En droit français le régime légal de la force majeure n’est pas d’ordre public et les parties ont toute latitude pour l’aménager dans sa définition et ses conséquences ou l’exclure.

Le régime légal, fixé à l’article 1218 du Code civil a été modifié en 2016. Il n’y a force majeure que si l’événement échappe au contrôle du débiteur, ne pouvait être raisonnablement prévu lors de la conclusion du contrat, produit des effets ne pouvant être évités par des mesures appropriées, et empêche l’exécution de son obligation par le débiteur.

Ce régime ne s’applique qu’aux contrats conclus ou modifiés depuis le 2 avril 2017. Pour les contrats antérieurs, le régime ancien reste applicable qui exige que l’événement soit imprévisible, irrésistible et extérieur reste applicable.

Dans tous les cas, si l’empêchement est temporaire, l’exécution de l’obligation est simplement suspendue alors que si l’empêchement est définitif, le contrat est résolu de plein droit et les parties sont définitivement libérées de leurs obligations.

Pour les contrats soumis au régime nouveau, trois conditions doivent être réunies pour que le débiteur puisse prétendre se libérer de ses obligations :

  1. La crise sanitaire échappe à son contrôle. Ceci n’est pas discutable s’agissant de l’effet de la crise sur son carnet de commande et la rupture de ses approvisionnements, comme de la désorganisation provoquée par les mesures de fermeture légales. La maladie des salariés du débiteur est également prise en compte dès lors qu’elle ne résulte pas de la conduite à risque du débiteur.
  2. La crise sanitaire présente un caractère raisonnablement imprévisible au jour de la conclusion du contrat. A défaut, le débiteur est réputé avoir accepté de supporter ce risque. Dans le cas d’une épidémie virale, il a été jugé que la force majeure n’est pas caractérisée lorsque l’épidémie préexistait au contrat (Saint-Denis de la Réunion, 29 déc. 2009, n° 08/02114 – dans le cas du chikungunya). Cette condition sera satisfaite sauf pour les contrats conclus depuis l’apparition voire la propagation du Covid19 soit fin février ou début mars 2020.
  3. Enfin les effets de l’événement ne peuvent être évités par des mesures appropriées, c’est-à-dire que le débiteur doit d’abord prendre des mesures appropriées pour essayer de limiter les effets de la crise et satisfaire à ses obligations de remboursement ou limiter son défaut. Il ne suffit donc pas que le débiteur n‘ait guère prise sur les effets directs de la crise Covid19 sur son activité qui découlent des mesures de confinement et d’ajournement impératives, mais il doit tenter de façon raisonnable d’en limiter les effets sur ses obligations de paiement. Certains secteurs (luxe, événementiel, hôtellerie-restauration, tourisme, transport, énergie) sont très affectés par la crise, mais il convient de prendre en compte aussi la situation concrète du débiteur et l’effet des mesures d’aide décrétées par l’Etat (décalage du paiement des charges sociales, chômage partiel, etc.).

Au vu de la jurisprudence ayant précisé les critères de mise en œuvre de la force majeure dans le régime antérieur à 2016 et des caractéristiques de la crise du Covid19 ces conditions s’appliqueraient en substance aussi aux contrats anciens.

La notification de la force majeure pourra se révéler une arme défensive utile pour certains débiteurs voulant faire suspendre l’exécution de leurs obligations de paiement et négocier au mieux un aménagement de leur contrat sans frais de waiver (suspension des obligations de remboursement, de fourniture de nouvelles suretés, libération des intérêts moratoires, etc.). La notification faite au prêteur devra s’attacher à identifier les effets concrets de la crise du Covid19 chez le débiteur et leur impact sur ses obligations contractuelles malgré des efforts raisonnables. En revanche, la nature temporaire et évolutive de la crise ne permet pas aujourd’hui de l’invoquer pour dénoncer un contrat de crédits.

Le Covid 19 permet-il de déclencher le régime de l’imprévision ?

Depuis 2016, l’article 1195 du code civil permet de demander une renégociation du contrat en cas de changement de circonstances imprévisible lors de la conclusion de l’acte et rendant l’exécution de ce contrat excessivement onéreuse pour une partie qui n’avait pas accepté d’en assumer le risque.

Une partie à un contrat de prêt pourrait-elle demander une renégociation du contrat à son cocontractant (notamment si cette partie venait à devoir mettre en place des moyens particulièrement onéreux pour devoir contourner l’épidémie) ?

La question ne pose pas en pratique dans les contrats de crédits et de sûretés, où cette clause ne s’applique pas aux contrats antérieurs à la réforme du Code civil de 2016 et est systématiquement écartée dans ceux conclus depuis son entrée en vigueur.

Le délai de grâce légal

Le juge peut accorder un délai ou rééchelonner, dans la limite de deux ans, le paiement de sommes dues ou à devoir par un débiteur compte tenu de la situation du débiteur et des besoins du créanciers (article 1343-5 du Code Civil), même après l’introduction d’une procédure.

Les procédures préventives et de sauvegarde

Au cas où la crise du Covid19 entraînerait de difficultés insurmontables pour certains débiteurs malgré la suspension temporaire de leurs obligations, on peut anticiper un recours aux procédures préventives du mandat ad hoc et de la conciliation voire la recherche de la protection de la sauvegarde.

3. QUELS SONT LES IMPACTS DU COVID-19 SUR LE FINANCEMENT DES PROJETS D'ÉNERGIE RENOUVELABLE - par Christophe Jacomin

La crise du COVID-19 est susceptible de perturber de manière significative les opérations de financement des infrastructures productrices d’énergies renouvelables. En effet, le matériel nécessaire à la construction de ces infrastructures est notamment produit en Asie, largement impacté par ce nouveau virus.

Pour les contrats de financement en cours, cela peut avoir plusieurs conséquences. Premièrement, dans les financements dits ‘Greenfield’ (i.e. financement de la construction d’infrastructure), les retards d’approvisionnement peuvent conduire les développeurs à ne pas respecter la date de consolidation fixée par la documentation de dette. Deuxièmement, certains prêteurs pourraient être amenés à considérer l’épidémie de Coronavirus comme un ‘Effet Défavorable Significatif’ (en anglais : Material Adverse Effect ou Material Adverse Change), dont la définition est souvent aménagée de manière assez large par les contrats de crédits. Cette qualification entrainerait un cas de défaut aux termes de la documentation de crédits, ce qui serait susceptible d’engendrer l’exigibilité anticipée de toute la dette et la réalisation des sûretés. Enfin, certains pourront considérer l’épidémie de Covid19 comme un cas de force majeure, exonérant les co-contractants des conséquences en matière d’exécution desdits contrats.

En la matière, il apparait que les acteurs de ces financements doivent faire preuve d’anticipation. Lorsqu’une difficulté d’approvisionnement ou de tenue de calendrier est identifiée, il semble utile de discuter et de conclure un waiver ou un amendement aménageant la situation contractuelle des parties aux nouvelles circonstances. Il est également envisageable de négocier un moratoire sur les intérêts de la dette.

4. LE CAS DE FORCE MAJEURE DANS LES CONTRATS DÉRIVÉS OTC

Les effets de crise du Covid19 peuvent exercer une pression forte sur la partie out of the money qui sera tenue de fournir un surcroit de collatéral à un moment où les titres cotés sont fortement dépréciés pour éviter le dénouement anticipé du contrat ou en risque de défaut. Les effets du confinement peuvent également entraver sa capacité à effectuer des paiements ou adresser des notifications en temps utile et retarder les opérations d’évaluation.

L’accord cadre ISDA 2002 (2002 ISDA Master Agreement) prévoit une clause de force majeure (Section 5(b)(ii)) qui peut être invoquée en l’absence de clause de perturbation (disruption) ou repli (fall back) plus spécifique.

Sauf aménagement, cette clause de force majeure prévoit la résiliation du contrat selon des modalités spécifiques, et non le déclenchement d’un cas de défaut. En cas de mise en œuvre, un délai de 8 jours ouvrés est accordé pour l’exécution des obligations de paiement et livraison.

S’il n’est pas remédié à la situation pendant ce délai, il devient alors possible pour la partie créancière de mettre en œuvre le close-out sur certaines ou toutes les transactions.  Il est à noter qu’à la différence d’un close-out consécutif à un cas de défaut, les transactions résiliées par suite d’un cas de force majeure sont évaluées au prix moyen du marché.

5. QUELLES PROTECTIONS POUR LES CRÉANCIERS ?

La crise du Covid19 affecte aussi les bailleurs de fonds. Des mesures exceptionnelles sont attendues pour alléger leurs obligations de provisionnement, de capital réglementaire et en matière de stress tests, afin de leur permettre d’aider au mieux les entreprises à faire face à leurs difficultés.

Certains dispositifs protecteurs de leurs intérêts pourraient être activés en fonction de l’impact de la crise du Covid19 sur les marchés financiers. On relèvera en particulier :

Clauses de Market flex/Market Mac/Market Disruption

Ces clauses, rencontrée dans les accords de prise ferme et de syndication permettent à la partie financière de rediscuter des termes d’une offre, résilier son engagement ou d’en modifier les modalités en cas d’événement majeur affectant les marchés financiers.

Credit Default Swaps

Les contrats de credit default swap permettent au prêteur de s’assurer contre le risque de crédit de l’emprunteur. Pour les CDS régis par la convention-cadre de l’International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA), c’est l’ISDA qui se prononcera sur l’existence ou non d’un cas de défaut, permettant ou non de mettre en œuvre le mécanisme du swap. Il conviendra de suivra attentivement les conditions de mise en ouvre des CDS en relation avec la crise du Covid 19.

6. RECOMMANDATIONS PRATIQUES

Le développement rapide et brutal de la crise du Covid19 prescrit de prendre sans retard la mesure de ses effets potentiels sur les obligations des parties à un contrat de crédits, d’auditer les contrats en cours et d’anticiper la rechercher des protections appropriées.

Dans les contrats en négociation, on se souviendra que la crise du Covid19 étant connue des parties, elle ne pourrait sauf renforcement significatif, être invoquée pour la mise en jeu des clauses de protection.

Les équipes Banque-Finance de Jeantet sont à votre disposition pour vous assister sur ces questions.