menu
back

Newsletters

COVID-19 and lease: reflexions and recommendations

Catherine Saint Geniest

Donors are concerned both about their obligations in the face of the current coronavirus outbreak and also about the demands that may come from stakeholders affected by the outbreak. The impact of several legal concepts needs to be addressed.

The obligation to guarantee the safety of the lessee (i) and the more general obligation to deliver the leased property (ii) justify the introduction of precautionary measures by lessors of multi-tenant buildings. Moreover, (iii) clauses relating to unpredictability may disrupt the contractual relationship between lessor and tenants.

(i) SAFETY OBLIGATION

Article L127-1 of the Building and Housing Code provides that “the owners, operators or occupents, as the case may be, of residential buildings and administrative, professional or commercial premises must, when the importance of these buildings or premises or their location justifies it, ensure the guarding or surveillance thereof and take measures to avoid obvious risks to the security and tranquillity of the premises”.

Moreover, case law has a long recognition of a contractual obligation of means on the part of the lessor to ensure the safety of the tenant (Court of Appeal of Pau, 12 June 2019, No. 17/00265; Court of Appeal of Nancy, 5 September 2017, No. 14/03043 – see for a founding judgment, Civ. 3e, 21 Nov. 1990, No. 89-15.922). A lessee who complains of a breach by the lessor on this count would have to establish that the means of maintaining security in the building have not been implemented.

(ii) REAL ESTATE USING RIGHT

The obligation of Real Estate using right resulting from Article 1719 of the Civil Code is a fundamental obligation of the lessor and requires the lessor to allow the teant to peacefully enjoy the leased property throughout the term of the lease.

The Court of Cassation regularly recalls the imperative nature of this obligation to deliver (Cass. Civ. 3e, 18 Jan. 2018 no. 16-26.011) and has been able to point out that it includes the common parts of a shopping centre qualified as “necessary accessories for the use of the leased property” (Cass. Civ. 3e, 19 Dec. 2012 no. 11-23.541).

The lessor must therefore implement the necessary means to:

  • Ensuring the safety of the tenant;
  • That the lessee may enjoy the leased thing, including the common areas, throughout the term of the lease.

Suggestions can be made within the framework of the means that can be implemented by the lessor:

  • Posting in the common areas of the building of the sanitary rules to be respected according to the government’s recommendations,
  • Requests tenants to report cases of illness among its staff and reminds them of the rules of containment,
  • Reinforcement of the cleaning/disinfection in common areas (in particular lift buttons, door handles, digicodes, stair railings…),

Provision of hydro-alcoholic solutions in the common areas.

(iii) CAN THE TENANT BE EXEMPT FROM PAYING RENT BECAUSE OF THE PANDEMIC?

The tenant could attempt to invoke the unpredictability of the current situation to request an exemption from payment of all or part of the contractually agreed rent.

Contracts entered into prior to 1 October 2016 are subject to the classic case law refusing to generally accept the theory of unforeseeability since the so-called Canal de Craponne ruling of 6 March 1876 handed down by the Court of Cassation.

For leases concluded since 1 October 2016, each party may invoke the benefit of the revision of the financial conditions of the contract, on the basis of Article 1195 of the Civil Code, if a “change in circumstances unforeseeable at the time of the conclusion of the contract makes performance excessively onerous for a party who had not agreed to assume the risk“.

The unpredictability of an event must be assessed on the day of the conclusion of the contract in accordance with Article 1218 of the Civil Code. Moreover, the condition of performance that has become “excessively onerous” for the lessee is strictly assessed (see in particular a decision of the Toulouse Court of Appeal of 3 Oct. 2019, no. 19/01579, regarding the impact of outbreak of avian influenza deemed insufficient on the farm operation in the case of a agricultural lease).

Article 1195 of the Civil Code is suppletive of the will of the parties, so that certain leases exclude the application of its provisions.

The exclusion of the provisions of Article 1195 of the Civil Code means, for the lessee, the impossibility of asserting unforeseeable circumstances that could justify a modification of the lease by the judge in order to lighten his contractual financial obligations.

menu
retour

Newsletters

Coronavirus : COVID-19 et bail : réflexions et recommandations

Catherine Saint Geniest

Les bailleurs sont inquiets à la fois de leurs obligations face à l’épidémie de coronavirus actuelle et également des demandes pouvant émaner de preneurs mis en difficulté par l’épidémie. L’impact de plusieurs notions juridiques doit être abordé.

L’obligation de garantir la sécurité du preneur (i), l’obligation plus générale de délivrance de la chose louée (ii) justifient la mise en place par les bailleurs d’immeubles multi-locataires de mesures de précaution. Par ailleurs, (iii) les clauses relatives à l’imprévisibilité peuvent perturber les relations contractuelles bailleur-preneur.

(i) OBLIGATION DE SÉCURITÉ

L’article L127-1 du Code de la construction et de l’habitation dispose que « les propriétaires, exploitants ou affectataires, selon le cas, d’immeubles à usage d’habitation et de locaux administratifs, professionnels ou commerciaux doivent, lorsque l’importance de ces immeubles ou de ces locaux ou leur situation le justifient, assurer le gardiennage ou la surveillance de ceux-ci et prendre les mesures permettant d’éviter les risques manifestes pour la sécurité et la tranquillité des locaux ».

Par ailleurs, la jurisprudence reconnaît de longue date une obligation contractuelle de moyens à la charge du bailleur de veiller à la sécurité du preneur (Cour d’appel de Pau, 12 juin 2019, n° 17/00265 ; Cour d’appel de Nancy, 5 septembre 2017, n° 14/03043 – v. pour un arrêt fondateur, Civ. 3e, 21 nov. 1990, n°89-15.922). Le preneur qui se plaindrait d’un manquement du bailleur de ce chef devrait établir que les moyens de maintien de la sécurité dans l’immeuble n’ont pas été mis en œuvre.

(ii) OBLIGATION DE DÉLIVRANCE

L’obligation de délivrance résultant de l’article 1719 du Code civil est une obligation fondamentale du bailleur et lui impose de faire jouir le preneur paisiblement de la chose louée pendant toute la durée du bail.

La Cour de cassation rappelle régulièrement le caractère impératif de cette obligation de délivrance (Cass. Civ. 3e, 18 janv. 2018 n° 16-26.011) et a pu rappeler qu’elle inclut les parties communes d’un centre commercial qualifiées d’« accessoires nécessaires à l’usage de la chose louée » (Cass. Civ. 3e, 19 déc. 2012 n° 11-23.541).

Le bailleur doit ainsi mettre en œuvre les moyens nécessaires pour :

  • Assurer la sécurité du preneur
  • Que le preneur puisse jouir de la chose louée, y compris les parties communes tout au long du bail.

On peut suggérer dans le cadre des moyens pouvant être mis en œuvre par le bailleur :

  • Affichage dans les parties communes de l’immeuble des règles sanitaires à respecter selon les recommandations du gouvernement,
  • Demande aux locataires de signaler les cas de maladie recensés parmi ses personnels et rappel des règles de confinement,
  • Renforcement du nettoyage/ désinfection des parties communes (notamment des boutons d’ascenseurs, poignées de portes, des digicodes, rampes d’escaliers,…),

Mise à disposition de solutions hydroalcooliques dans les parties communes.

(iii) LE PRENEUR PEUT-IL S'EXONÉRER DU PAIEMENT DU LOYER AU MOTIF DE PANDÉMIE ?

Le preneur pourrait tenter d’invoquer l’imprévisibilité de la situation actuelle pour solliciter une dispense de paiement de tout ou partie du loyer contractuellement convenu.

Les contrats conclus antérieurement au 1er octobre 2016 se voient appliquer la jurisprudence classique refusant d’admettre de manière générale la théorie de l’imprévision depuis l’arrêt dit du Canal de Craponne du 6 mars 1876 rendu par la Cour de cassation.

Pour les baux conclus depuis le 1er octobre 2016, chaque partie peut invoquer le bénéfice de la révision des conditions financières du contrat, sur le fondement de l’article 1195 du Code civil, dès lors qu’est constaté un « changement de circonstances imprévisible lors de la conclusion du contrat rend(ant) l’exécution excessivement onéreuse pour une partie qui n’avait pas accepté d’en assumer le risque ».

L’imprévisibilité d’un événement doit s’apprécier au jour de la conclusion du contrat selon l’article 1218 du Code civil. Par ailleurs, la condition d’une exécution devenue « excessivement onéreuse » pour le preneur est appréciée strictement (v. notamment un arrêt de la cour d’appel de Toulouse du 3 oct. 2019, n° 19/01579, à propos de l’impact de la grippe aviaire jugé insuffisant sur l’exploitation fermière pour le cas d’un bail à ferme).

L’article 1195 du code civil est supplétif de la volonté des parties, de sorte que certains baux excluent l’application de ses dispositions.

L’exclusion des dispositions de l’article 1195 du code civil signifie, pour le preneur, l’impossibilité de faire valoir des circonstances imprévisibles qui pourraient justifier une modification du bail par le juge afin d’alléger ses obligations financières contractuelles.