menu
back

Newsletters

Temporary flexibility in the dates for submission of European prudential reporting statements, additional national requirements and public disclosure in the insurance sector

Martine Samuelian , Olivier Lyon Lynch

The European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) believes that insurance companies should currently focus their efforts on monitoring and assessing the impact of the situation caused by the health crisis and ensuring their operational continuity. On 20 March this year, the EIOPA issued three recommendations concerning a relaxation of the dates for submitting European prudential reporting statements and publications intended for the public (EIOPA-BoS-20/236, 20 March 2020).

In a press release on 26 March 2020, the Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) announced that it intends to fully implement the recommendations published by the EIOPA and specified the terms and conditions.

In essence, the ACPR is providing additional time:

  • of one week for the transmission of information to the competent authorities for the first quarter of 2020 ;
  • of eight weeks, save in exceptional cases, for the collection of quantitative data on a company or consolidated basis, as at 31 December 2019 ;
  • of eight weeks for the collection of the Regular Report to the Supervisor (RRS-RSR) and the Solvency and Financial Situation Report (RSSF-SFCR) ;
  • of eight weeks for the collection of the Solvency and Financial Situation Report (RSSF-SFCR) with the exception of a series of major reports whose submission is delayed by only two weeks.

In addition to EIOPA’s recommendations, ACPR has decided to also make the submission dates for the complementary national requirements more flexible. Two sets of reporting requirements are targeted here:

  • specific national states which are granted an additional period of eight weeks ;
  • and a series of narrative reports which benefit from an additional eight weeks or “the foreseeable extension of the deadline for holding a general meeting”, as the case may be.

The ACPR press release is accompanied by a table that summarizes the new deadlines that must be met by insurers, noting that insurers are encouraged by the regulator to submit their collections at any time prior to the shortest deadline mentioned in the table and within the usual timeframes.

In addition, ACPR is also expanding the scope of EIOPA’s recommendations by extending the reporting date for escheat and outstanding duty reports to June 30, 2020.

Finally, with respect to the terms and conditions of these remittances, the ACPR clarifies that, in exceptional circumstances, those that are not electronically signed or that are not signed in a compliant manner may be temporarily accepted.

These relaxations in the current context can only be welcomed as they will allow insurance undertakings to focus on the continuity of their business even though the majority of them are currently operating in a degraded manner.

With respect to the banking sector, ACPR has already announced that similar measures relating to reporting statements will be forthcoming.

menu
retour

Newsletters

Assouplissement temporaire des dates de remise des états de reporting prudentiel européens, des exigences nationales complémentaires et de publication des informations destinées au public dans le secteur de l’assurance

Olivier Lyon Lynch , Martine Samuelian

En estimant que les organismes d’assurance doivent actuellement concentrer leurs efforts sur le suivi et l’évaluation de l’impact de la situation engendrée par la crise sanitaire et assurer leur continuité opérationnelle, l’Autorité européenne des assurances et des pensions professionnelles (AEAPP) a émis le 20 mars dernier trois recommandations portant sur un assouplissement des dates de remise des états de « reporting » prudentiels européens et des publications destinées au public (EIOPA-BoS-20/236, 20 March 2020).

Dans un communiqué du 26 mars 2020, l’Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) a fait savoir qu’elle entend pleinement mettre en œuvre les recommandations publiées par l’AEAPP et en a précisé les modalités.

En substance, l’ACPR accorde un délai supplémentaire :

  • d’une semaine pour la transmission des informations aux autorités compétentes pour le premier trimestre 2020 ;
  • de huit semaines, sauf exception, s’agissant de la collecte des données quantitatives sur base sociale ou sur base consolidée, arrêtées au 31/12/2019 ;
  • de huit semaines s’agissant de la collecte du Rapport Régulier au Superviseur (RRS-RSR) et du Rapport sur la Solvabilité et la Situation Financière (RSSF-SFCR) ;
  • de huit semaines s’agissant de la collecte du Rapport sur la Solvabilité et la Situation Financière (RSSF-SFCR) à l’exception d’une série d’états majeurs dont la remise n’est reportée que de deux semaines.

En complément des recommandations de l’AEAPP, l’ACPR a décidé d’assouplir également les dates de remise des exigences nationales complémentaires. Sont ici visées deux séries de reporting :

  • les états nationaux spécifiques qui bénéficient d’un délai supplémentaire de huit semaines ; et
  • une série de rapports narratifs qui bénéficient selon les cas d’un délai supplémentaire de huit semaines ou « de l’allongement prévisible de la date limite pour tenir une assemblée générale ».

Le communiqué de l’ACPR est accompagné d’un tableau qui récapitule les nouvelles échéances qui doivent être respectées par les organismes d’assurance étant précisé que ces derniers sont encouragés par le régulateur à soumettre leur collecte à tout moment avant le délai le plus court mentionné dans ledit tableau et selon les délais habituels de rigueur.

Par ailleurs, l’ACPR étend également le périmètre des recommandations de l’AEAPP en reportant la date de remise des rapports sur la déshérence et les droits non réglés au 30 juin 2020.

Enfin, s’agissant des modalités de ces remises, l’ACPR précise que compte tenu des circonstances exceptionnelles, celles qui ne seront pas revêtues d’une signature électronique ou revêtues d’une signature non conforme pourront être temporairement acceptées.

Ces assouplissements dans le contexte actuel ne peuvent être qu’accueillis de manière positive dès lors qu’ils permettront aux organismes d’assurance de se concentrer sur la continuité de leur activité alors même que la majorité d’entre eux fonctionne aujourd’hui de manière dégradée.

S’agissant du secteur de la banque, l’ACPR a d’ores et déjà annoncé que des mesures similaires relatives aux états de reporting seront prochainement communiquées.