menu
back

Newsletters

Ukraine : COVID-19 virus related legal alert

Bertrand Barrier

I.QUARANTINE AND OTHER RESTRICTIVE MEASURES THROUGHOUT UKRAINE

Starting from 17 March 2020, Kyiv and other big Ukrainian cities introduced restrictions in connection with the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19). Almost all establishments are closed. Restaurants, including fast food restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping malls are also closed. Only grocery stores and supermarkets, gas stations, banks and ATMs are allowed to continue to operate.

Movement of people between the capital and other points within Ukraine is restricted. All cultural, sporting, social, religious and other mass events are banned. Starting from today, 18 March 2020, the subway has stopped in Kyiv, Kharkiv and Dnipro, while the number of people in one car of public transport was limited. People are officially allowed to work from home for the duration of the quarantine
introduced because of the coronavirus.

On 17 March 2020, the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted draft law no. 3219 ‘Amending certain Legislative Acts of Ukraine with a view to Preventing Occurrence and Spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19)’ (the ‘Law’). The Law sets forth the following restrictions for the duration of the quarantine and restrictive measure related to the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). The Law was signed by the
President of Ukraine and is expected to be shortly published.

1. Force-majeure
The Law enables the Ukrainian Chamber of Commerce to certify the occurrence of force-majeure in contracts with reference to the quarantine introduced by the Ukrainian government.

2. Vacations and working from home
For the duration of the quarantine or restrictive measures, employers may ask employees to work from home or to allow employees go on a vacation leave, if they so wish. Unpaid vacation leave taken during the quarantine will not be counted towards the maximum unpaid leave allowance established by the law.

3. Opening hours of businesses
Owners of companies may change their opening hours for accepting visitors and providing services. Information about such changes must be communicated to individuals through websites and through other communication channels.

4. Foreigners
A ban upon cancelation of a certificate of registration of an internally displace person will be put in place (for the duration of the quarantine and 30 days after its abolishment); a ban upon imposition of administrative sanctions against foreigners and stateless persons who were not able to leave Ukraine or file a request with the offices of the State Migration Service for the extension of their permitted stay in
Ukraine in connection with the quarantine.

5. State supervision and administrative services
For the duration of the quarantine (restrictive measures), governmental authorities are prohibited from carrying out scheduled measures with regard to state control (supervision) over commercial activities.
Deadlines for rendering of administrative and other services are suspended.

6. Unemployed persons
The Cabinet of Ministers is instructed to adopt resolutions and to draft laws designed to register people who are looking for work from the first day when they filed an application and to pay unemployment benefits to them from day one.

7. Taxes and duties
Importation into Ukraine of medicines, medical appliances and equipment required for prevention, containment and liquidation of the coronavirus are exempted from payment of VAT. The Customs Code provides for their exemption from import duty and fast-track customs clearance. These rules will remain in effect for three months.

8. Public procurement
The procurement of goods, works or services required for the prevention, containment or liquidation of outbreaks, epidemics or pandemics of the coronavirus is temporarily exempted from the public rocurement tender formalities. Such goods, works or services will be detailed by the Cabinet of inisters. The purchaser will be required to publish a report about executed contracts, the procurement contract and all annexes thereto, the report on implementation of the contract in the electronic procurement system as required by the law.

9. Responsibility
Administrative responsibility: any violation of rules with respect to the quarantine of people, sanitary, hygienic and anti-epidemic rules established by the laws or decisions of local authorities will be unished by a fine of between 17 and up to 34 thousand hryvnias, while officials will face a fine of between 24 and up to 170 thousand hryvnias.

Criminal responsibility: a fine for a violation of rules established with a view to preventing epidemic and other infectious diseases if they caused or could have knowingly cased the spread of such diseases mounts to from 17 up to 51 thousand hryvnias. Alternatively, the person may face imprisonment for up o 3 years.

II.GOVERNMENT'S STEPS TO SUPPORT BUSINESSES

On 17 March 2020, the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted draft law no. 3220 ‘Amending the Tax Code of Ukraine and other Laws of Ukraine with a view to Supporting Tax Payers for the Duration of the Measures Implemented to Prevent the Occurrence and Spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19)’ (the ‘Law’). The Law was signed by the President of Ukraine and is expected to be shortly published.

The Law introduces the following changes to the Tax Code of Ukraine:

1. Suspension of application of penalties for late payments of taxes
No penalties will be applied for violations of the tax laws during the period from 1 March through 31 May 2020, apart from the penalties for:
– violation of requirements to long-term life insurance contracts or insurance contracts executed as part of private pensions programmes;
– sale of assets held as a tax lien without consent of the controlling body;
– violation of the rules of accounting, production and circulation of fuel or ethyl spirit at excise arehouse, used on the general grounds;
– violations of calculation, declaration and payment of the value added tax, excise tax and rental payments.

During the period from 1 March through 31 May 2020, tax payers are not charged a penalty, while accessed penalties for this period that have not ben paid will be written off.

2. Moratorium on tax audits
A moratorium was introduced for documentary and onsite audits for the period from 18 March through 31 May 2020. Documentary and onsite audits which were commenced prior to 18 March 2020 and have not been completed, will be temporarily suspended until 31 May 2020.

3. Suspension of statutory limitation periods

The Law envisages that statutes of limitation are suspended for the period from 18 March through 31 May 2020.

4. Real estate tax
Among above mentioned changes, the land charges (land tax and rental fee for state and municipally owned land plots) for land owned or used by individuals or legal entities in their commercial activities are not accrued and will not be paid from 1 March through 30 April.

Non-residential real estate owned by individuals and legal entities will not be subject to real estate taxes from March 1 through 30 April 2020.

5. Unified social charge
Starting from 1 March through 30 April 2020:
– all private entrepreneurs and those engaged in independent professional activities will not be subject to the unified social charge;
– penalties and fines for overdue or insufficient payment of the unified social charge will be waived, the same will apply for over submission of the accompanying reports.

6. Wealth and personal income return declarations
The deadline for filing of the wealth and income return was extended until 1 July 2020.

7. Cash registries’ reform postponed
The mandatory introduction of cash registries was postponed by 3 months for all categories of usinesses working on the simplified tax regime.

menu
retour

Newsletters

Ukraine : Covid-19 alerte juridique

Bertrand Barrier

I.QUARANTAINE ET AUTRES MESURES RESTRICTIVES DANS TOUTE L'UKRAINE

À partir du 17 mars 2020, Kiev et d’autres grandes villes ukrainiennes ont introduit les restrictions liées à la propagation du Coronavirus (COVID-19). Presque toutes les les établissements sont fermés. Les restaurants, y compris les fast-foods, les cafés, les bars, et les centres commerciaux sont également fermés. Seuls les épiceries et les supermarchés, les stations-service les stations, les banques et les distributeurs automatiques de billets sont autorisés à continuer à fonctionner.

La circulation des personnes entre la capitale et d’autres points en Ukraine est restreinte. Tous les événements culturels, sportifs, sociaux, religieux et autres événements de masse sont interdits. À partir d’aujourd’hui, 18 mars 2020, le métro s’arrête à Kiev, Kharkiv et le Dnipro, alors que le nombre de personnes dans une voiture de transport public était limité.
Les personnes sont officiellement autorisées à travailler à domicile pendant la durée de la quarantaine
introduit à cause du coronavirus.

Le 17 mars 2020, la Verkhovna Rada d’Ukraine a adopté le projet de loi n° 3219 modifiant certains actes législatifs ukrainiens en vue de prévenir la survenance de la propagation du coronavirus (COVID-19)” (la “loi”). La loi définit les restrictions suivantes pour la durée de la quarantaine et de la mesure restrictive
liée à la propagation du coronavirus (COVID-19). La loi a été signée par le Président de l’Ukraine et devrait être publié prochainement.

1- Force majeure :

La loi permet à la Chambre de commerce ukrainienne de certifier l’événement de force majeure dans les contrats en référence à la quarantaine introduite par la Le gouvernement ukrainien.

2- Vacances et travail à domicile
Pendant la durée de la quarantaine ou des mesures restrictives, les employeurs peuvent demander de travailler à domicile ou de permettre aux employés de partir en vacances, s’ils si vous le souhaitez. Les congés annuels non payés pris pendant la quarantaine ne seront pas comptabilisés vers l’allocation maximale de congé sans solde établie par la loi.

3- Heures d’ouverture des entreprises
Les propriétaires d’entreprises peuvent modifier leurs heures d’ouverture pour accepter les visiteurs et
fournir des services. Les informations relatives à ces changements doivent être communiquées à des individus par le biais de sites web et d’autres canaux de communication.

4. Étrangers
L’interdiction d’annuler un certificat d’enregistrement d’un déplacé interne personne sera mise en place (pour la durée de la quarantaine et 30 jours après sa abolition) ; l’interdiction d’imposer des sanctions administratives aux étrangers et les apatrides qui n’ont pas pu quitter l’Ukraine ou déposer une demande auprès de la du Service national des migrations pour la prolongation de leur séjour autorisé dans Ukraine en rapport avec la quarantaine.

5- Surveillance de l’État et services administratifs
Pendant la durée de la quarantaine (mesures restrictives), les autorités gouvernementales Il est interdit aux autorités d’exécuter les mesures prévues en ce qui concerne les le contrôle (la supervision) des ctivités commerciales. Les délais pour la prestation de services administratifs et autres sont suspendus.

6- Les chômeurs
Le Cabinet des ministres est chargé d’adopter des résolutions et de rédiger des lois conçu pour nregistrer les personnes à la recherche d’un emploi dès le premier jour où elles a déposé une demande et de leur verser des allocations de chômage dès le premier jour.

7- Impôts et droits
Importation en Ukraine de médicaments, d’appareils et d’équipements médicaux nécessaires à la prévention, au confinement et à la liquidation du coronavirus sont exemptées du paiement de la TVA. Le code des douanes prévoit leur exemption de l’importation les droits de douane et le dédouanement accéléré. Ces règles resteront en vigueur pendant trois ans mois.

8- Marchés publics
L’acquisition de biens, de travaux ou de services nécessaires à la prévention, l’endiguement ou la liquidation des foyers, des épidémies ou des pandémies de coronavirus est temporairement exempté des formalités de passation des marchés publics. Ces biens, Les travaux ou services seront détaillés par le Cabinet des ministres. L’acheteur sera l’obligation de publier un rapport sur les contrats exécutés, le marché public et toutes ses annexes, le rapport sur l’exécution du contrat dans le format électronique
système de passation des marchés publics comme l’exige la loi.

9- Responsabilité
Responsabilité administrative : toute violation des règles relatives à la quarantaine des personnes, les règles sanitaires, hygiéniques et anti-épidémiques établies par les lois ou les décisions des autorités locales seront sanctionnées par une amende de 17 à 34 mille hryvnias, tandis que les fonctionnaires seront condamnés à une amende de 24 à 170 mille hryvnias.

Responsabilité pénale : une amende pour une violation des règles établies en vue de la prévention des maladies épidémiques et autres maladies infectieuses si elles ont causé ou auraient pu la propagation de ces maladies s’élève de 17 à 51 mille hryvnias. Sinon, la personne peut être condamnée à une peine d’emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu’à 3 ans.

I.MESURES PRISES PAR LE GOUVERNEMENT POUR SOUTENIR LES ENTREPRISES

Le 17 mars 2020, la Verkhovna Rada d’Ukraine a adopté le projet de loi n° 3220 modifiant le code fiscal et d’autres lois ukrainiennes en vue de Soutenir les contribuables pendant la durée des mesures mises en œuvre pour prévenir la Occurrence et propagation du coronavirus (COVID-19)” (la “loi”). La loi était
signé par le président de l’Ukraine et devrait être publié prochainement.

La loi introduit les modifications suivantes dans le code des impôts de l’Ukraine :

1. Suspension de l’application des pénalités pour retard de paiement des impôts
Aucune pénalité ne sera appliquée pour les violations de la législation fiscale pendant la période allant du 1 de mars au 31 mai 2020, à l’exception des sanctions pour :
– la violation des exigences relatives aux contrats d’assurance vie de longue durée ou à l’assurance
les contrats exécutés dans le cadre de programmes de retraite privés ;
– la vente d’actifs détenus à titre de privilège fiscal sans le consentement de l’organisme de contrôle ;
– violation des règles de comptabilité, de production et de circulation du carburant ou de l’éthyle
l’esprit à l’entrepôt d’accise, utilisé sur le terrain général ;
– les infractions au calcul, à la déclaration et au paiement de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée,
les droits d’accises et les loyers.

Pendant la période du 1er mars au 31 mai 2020, les contribuables ne sont pas tenus de payer
une pénalité, alors que les pénalités d’accès pour cette période qui n’ont pas été payées seront
annulée.

2. Moratoire sur les contrôles fiscaux
Un moratoire a été introduit pour les audits documentaires et sur place pour la période du 18 mars au 31 mai 2020. Les audits documentaires et sur place qui ont été commencées avant le 18 mars 2020 et qui n’ont pas été achevées, seront temporairement suspendue jusqu’au 31 mai 2020.

3. Suspension des délais de prescription
La loi prévoit que la prescription est suspendue pour la période allant de
Du 18 mars au 31 mai 2020.

4. Taxe foncière
Parmi les changements mentionnés ci-dessus, les charges foncières (taxe foncière et frais de location pour
les parcelles de terrain appartenant à l’État et aux municipalités) pour les terrains appartenant ou utilisés par des particuliers ou des personnes morales
dans leurs activités commerciales ne sont pas comptabilisés et ne seront pas payés à partir du 1
De mars au 30 avril.

Les biens immobiliers non résidentiels appartenant à des personnes physiques et morales ne seront pas
soumis à l’impôt foncier du 1er mars au 30 avril 2020.

5. Charge sociale unifiée
Du 1er mars au 30 avril 2020 :
– tous les entrepreneurs privés et les personnes exerçant une activité professionnelle indépendante
Les activités ne seront pas soumises à la charge sociale unifiée ;
– les pénalités et amendes pour retard ou insuffisance de paiement de la taxe sociale unifiée
Les frais seront supprimés, de même que pour la présentation des documents d’accompagnement
rapports.

6. Déclarations de patrimoine et de revenus personnels
Le délai de dépôt de la déclaration de patrimoine et de revenus a été prolongé jusqu’au 1er juillet
2020.

7. Report de la réforme des caisses enregistreuses
L’introduction obligatoire des caisses enregistreuses a été reportée de 3 mois pour tous les
les catégories d’entreprises travaillant sur le régime fiscal simplifié.